Cardamom Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
These cookies are great. I added a bit more cardamom and cinnamon as per previous reviews. The only thing is that I doubled the recipe and only had 15 cookies. Maybe I make them big, but that's how I like them. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn Boomer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Delicious flavor; followed the recipe exactly, only necessity forced me to use vanilla almond milk instead of regular. Yum! Also, didn't roll these out 1/8" thick because it was too sticky to use a rolling pin on; instead, I just made thumb-tip sized drops on the cookie sheet, and that seemed to work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Did not have lemon zest or orange zest so I used 1 tsp lemon juice and then reduced milk to 1 tsp. Also increased the cardamom to 1 tsp and the cinnamon to 1 tsp. Did not sprinkle with sugar (enough sugar in dough). Baked on parchment paper about 10 minutes. Very good cookie, easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I love these cookies. I have just made them for the second time. The dough was sticky so I used a small scoop to put them on the parchment paper and then slightly wetted my fingers to flatten them. I chilled the dough in the refrig. in between batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I had no lemon, so orange zest it was and no almonds, so walnuts were substituted. They turned out to be a considerably different type of cookie, but nonetheless a tasty spice cookie. Will make again and take the advice of other users to use the cookie as pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Delicious cookies. I used orange zest, since I did not have a lemon and liked the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
For those of you allergic to wheat & gluten, I made these wonderful cookies with a combo of sorghum, rice & coconut flour. I'm also allergic to almonds so used hazelnuts instead. Added extra cardamom, extra lemon zest & a sprinkle of anise seed. Even used Earth Balance vegan butter. And they came out light, flaky and absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The recipe turns out great after a few adjustments. I increased the cardamom to 1.5 tspn, the cinamon to 1/2 tspn, and lemon peel to 1/2 tspn. I don't like cookies too sweet, so I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup to let the spice flavour come out. I also found the dough too sticky too roll, so I made balls and flattened them with my hand - note that this will decrease the yield to 1.5 dozen. I sprinkled pecans on top, too, and am enjoying the cookies very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Cookies are very good but this recipe needed lots of tweaking. I used 1/2 tsp cardamom and 1/4 tsp cinnamon and used orange zest in place of the lemon. I did not add the milk as the dough was already too sticky. It was far too sticky to work with so I rolled in a log in plastic wrap and chilled in the freezer then sliced the log to make the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States