Cardamom Chicken with Salt and Pepper Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This recipe was very good! It was very easy to make and the chicken was tender and flavorful. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Best Chicken Ever! I put too much salt on mine, but the color and the smells and the flavor is wonderful!! I let mine marinade over 24 hours, but it is so worth it. You probably don't need to marinade it that long, but it worked for me. Merci for the recipe! I cut mine down to three pieces of thigh using the calculator at the bottom. You can find cardamom inexpensive at the Indian/Asian grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I loved this chicken. It came out a little salty with both the soy sauce AND a salt crust, but the flavors were spectacular. I was especially (pleasantly) surprised that the cardamom flavor was so infused into the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This recipe seemed so easy but I did not know anything about cardamom, so I tried it. I marinated it overnight and it is now in my recipe box because the flavor was wonderful and so moist. This is a keeper, the salt and pepper crust was exellent. Great taste, thanks Darla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
Made this chicken for visiting friends... and they were pleasantly surprised that my obsession with cardamom yielded such a great find. I'm not the biggest fan of skin-on chicken, but the simplicity and strong flavors of your recipe made it worth it. MmmMmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This was very good--very moist and flavorful. I increased the amount of cardamom to 3/4 tsp, so it had a stronger cardamom taste. It still could have used more. I also reccomend cooking the chicken longer--I cooked it for 55 minutes, covering it with foil for the last 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I needed something different to impress mom when she casually said she and my step dad were stopping by for dinner if we'd have her...in other words...i'm coming over and try and stop me lol like any good mom, pickiness is a forte..and she loed this! I cut down on the cardamom a bit and added just a bit more honey, it turned out wonderful and extremely moist..no wonder your guests liked this one Darla :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Very flaworful and good. I used skinless chicken breasts. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Delicious and flavorful. I didn't make any major alterations with this recipe, other than probably going heavier on the spices that the recipes calls for and marinating this for probably close to 24 hours. This is so tasty moist. I've had this hot and cold and it's perfect either way. Thank you for the recipe. Oh yes. and I used chicken breasts instead of thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This is the best baked chicken I have ever had. Absolutely amazing!!! I used two big chicken breasts (boneless, skinless) and let it marinate most of the day. Just heavenly. Easy, and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States