Cardamom Chicken with Salt and Pepper Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I love cardamom so I thought I'd give this recipe a try, especially since everyone else seems to love it. The combination of flavors was just wrong. In fact, I didn't like the smell or taste of the marinade, but I thought maybe combining it with the chicken and cooking it would help. It didn't. It tasted exacly the same. After a couple of forced bites, everyone at the table agreed that it was just inedible, and we threw the rest away. It's a rare meal that's so bad we can't even tolerate it. I followed the recipe exactly, so it must not be my family's type of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Delicious and flavorful. I didn't make any major alterations with this recipe, other than probably going heavier on the spices that the recipes calls for and marinating this for probably close to 24 hours. This is so tasty moist. I've had this hot and cold and it's perfect either way. Thank you for the recipe. Oh yes. and I used chicken breasts instead of thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This was very good--very moist and flavorful. I increased the amount of cardamom to 3/4 tsp, so it had a stronger cardamom taste. It still could have used more. I also reccomend cooking the chicken longer--I cooked it for 55 minutes, covering it with foil for the last 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I've never tried Cardamom before and was shocked at the price (I found it anywhere from $8 to $18 per bottle!) but went ahead & tried it for something new. My boyfriend wasn't nuts about it but did like it and wouldn't mind having it again (hey, at least he tried it!), I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This is a really nice recipe, and its easy to make ahead. I just put frozen chicken in a bag with the marinade ingredients and let it thaw with them in the fridge for a couple of days and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Best Chicken Ever! I put too much salt on mine, but the color and the smells and the flavor is wonderful!! I let mine marinade over 24 hours, but it is so worth it. You probably don't need to marinade it that long, but it worked for me. Merci for the recipe! I cut mine down to three pieces of thigh using the calculator at the bottom. You can find cardamom inexpensive at the Indian/Asian grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Loved it!! I followed the recipe exactly and my family told me don't lose this recipe. DH wanted to know what spice I used. He had never heard of cardamom and I have only used it in baked goods but it gave the chicken a wonderful flavor. I will definately make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
You were so correct....don't be afraid to try this simple receipe. It is delicious. Unique and so very tasty and unique. WE LOVED IT! We used the coarse (large) sea salt and fresh group pepper and a few black peppercorns. AMAZING! Best new flavor I have tried this summer! THANK YOU for sharing this! :) Kind regards, Doug
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
AWESOME is the only word that I can use to describe this chicken. It is definitely going to be one of my families regular dishes. Flavor is wonderful, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This chicken came out so delicious! The salt and pepper crust make this dish and the cardamom is quite subtle. I whirled together the marinade ingredients in my mini chopped and ended up letting the chicken sit in it for about 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Million Dollar Chicken

Chicken is roasted on bread and painted with a simple crème fraîche glaze.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States