Cardamom Braids Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I made this bread for Easter last year and plan on making again this weekend. The flavor was good, but a little too weak on the cardamon for me (thus 4 stars and not 5), so I plan to probably double the cardamom & also add some to the sugar sprinkled on top like another suggested. My one mistake was that I let the bread rise too much. (Didn't really know you could do this). It mostly lost it's pretty braid shape and got kind of round & blobby looking - but it still tasted very good! If you want something a little different, or it starts getting a little stale before you can eat it all, it makes EXCELLENT toast. Easter eggs + cardamom toast = yummy after Easter breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chikalin
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
very good. i sprinkled a mixture of 3 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp cardamom on top of the loaves instead of just sugar. sweet, but not too sweet, has a subtle cardamom flavor, and would probably make delicious french toast. EDIT- I ended up making french toast with some of the leftovers (it makes a lot of bread, and I'm only cooking for two.) the french toast was amazing! I made a cardamom based french toast casserole and this bread just made it sing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I am so excited! I remember my mother (also of Norwegian heritage) serving this bread to us as children, and I recently found a source of the cardamom spice to use in this recipe. Thank you for helping me recall wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This stuff is fabulous. I am vegan, so I substituted the butter and eggs with earth balance and ener-g egg replacer. It came out great....soft, sweet, and the perfect amount of cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I have never baked bread before, but this recipe was easy to follow. I would only add that it helps to put the bread in the oven at about 120 degrees or so with a pan of warm water at the bottom. It seemed to make the bread rise faster. The results were amazing and all four loaves were eaten by friends and family in less than a day! This recipe is sure to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I really liked this bread. It was simple to make too- and I felt quite accomplished. ;) The only thing is... I thought, there is no way this amount of dough can make 4 loaves. So I decided to make only 3. It would have been perfect.... but I didn't take into account the fact that larger loaves need more baking time. So my first loaf had a raw spot in the middle. I was scared of it happening again, so my second and third loaves were a little over-baked. But this recipe is great because both the under and over-done loaves tasted wonderful! Even my dad, who never says a word of praise about anyone's cooking, said "Wow, this bread is really good!" :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Excellent bread recipe! Fast and Easy and leaves lots of room for creativity. I am usually not a big fan of cardamom but really like it in this as it is really mild and adds a nice hint of flavor. I added minced garlic to the top of the loaf and it is WONDERFUL with the cardamom and instead of white sugar for the top, I used the large granule sugar (turbinado). Highly recommend this recipe! Will be making this bread again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I have a recipe almost identical to this one (uses half the amount of ingredients and makes one large loaf) - it is absolutely delicious! If you're looking for a sweet bread with a subtle spice, give this one a try. My husband and toddlers love it! Although it can be made into loaves - it's much more beautiful presentation when braided. TIP: Instead of using an entire egg, whisk 1 tablespoon water with 1 egg white - then brush the loaf (loaves) and sprinkle with coarse sugar - it's a simple sweet touch! Also for those concerned with how to tell when bread is properly cooked enough - insert an instant read thermometer into the bottom of the loaf. The bread should register between 195° and 205°F (the higher temp is for wet/sticky doughs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States