Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
These carmels are excellent! Great buttery carmel flavor! My kids and entire family loved them! Cooking time took a while. Younger children shouldn't cook these, but they can wrap the carmels as my kids did. Even my 4 year old had fun wrapping them in wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
This was such an easy recipe I was surprised it actually worked. The caramels are so moreish with a smooth buttery flavour. I plan to make up jars of them for family and friends at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katanning, Western Australia, Australia
Living In: Chidlow, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
Mmmm..we used this recipe to make caramel apples (it was my first time making caramel apples so the caramel kept sliding off) so we just ended up using the caramel as an apple dip. it came out SOOOO good. look no further for a caramel recipe. after we made apple dip we poured the remainder into a pan and made caramel candy pieces. YUMMY.. rich and buttery. really easy too. the only thing i did different was add waaaay more vanilla than called for (i love lots) my husband couldn't stop raving about it. it was really simple too. be careful though..the mixture gets really hot so kids should be supervised carefully if they're helping.. thanks barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
The taste is wonderful! However, I must have done something wrong. It took an hour to get to the suggested temp. Also, I brought it to suggested 250 degrees (hard ball stage) and it turned into a hard candy, like a sucker. I like soft caramels so next time I make it I'll take it to 225 degrees. The flavor is worth trying it again. Great gift for Christmas baskets for neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
I think there is two much butter in this recipe. I might be wrong, but I took the temp to 250, but I couldnt get it to get completly solid, even after it cooled. It tastes great, but I couldnt give it to friends because of the softness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
Excellent recipe - mine are the perfect consistency, not gooey, not hard. It takes a long time to reach 250 degrees though, which I did not expect, having had little experience making candy. It hangs at about 212 for a long time and then starts moving again, then hangs at 225 for another while. I think that total cooking time was about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I'm always skeptical about trying a new recipe, but this is one that no one should be afraid to try. It was so easy and quick to make. I love having new candies and cookies to try. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
The ingredients were the first to catch my eye. Butter, sugars, corn syrup and others...what more could a person ask for? Yes, it did take a while to cook and yes, I only took mine to about 246 degrees, but the wait was worth the taste. Now, these are the "real thing"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
This is an excellent recipe but you must be willing to stay the course with it on the stove. These are the best I have ever eaten! Mine turned out semi soft and I wrapped them in long pieces in waxed paper. Then I twisted the ends of the paper. You will absolutely LOVE the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I have had SO many compliments after making this recipe. I love caramels and am QUITE happy with this recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States