Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Fantastic! Read the reviews for advice. You MUST stir constantly for about 1 hour! Additional ingredients - bottle of wine, a movie and good friends to take shifts stirring. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
These were phenomenal!! does take a bit of time (especially the wrapping) but well worth it. Watch the stages, I used a candy thermometer but also took the suggestion of other reviewers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
People can call me crazy but I love the plain old caramels way more than the different recipes with a twist that just seems to make it worst but I do absolutely love the chocolate covered ones. I'm the one that you would call the crazy chocolate lady.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Love caramel and this one is simple and tasty.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Very easy, and good recipe! Tastes like Worther's Soft chews! Summary of my experience and advice. 1. Use 1/2 white, 1/2 brown sugar. The Brown Sugar adds a nice richness. 2. I replaced the whipping cream with Light Cream, and it turned out just as well as the original. 3. you will be standing at your stove for awhile, so get comfy. Remember the key to keeping it from burning is to start low, go slow, and KEEP STIRING! You can let it set for about 5 seconds, then you need to move it around a little. Start it out on low heat (my stove goes from sim-7 i started on about a 3) when the temp on the thermometer stalls out bump up the heat just a little (i went to 3.5) and.....KEEP STIIIIIRRRRIIINNGGG!!! i bumped mine up all the way to a 4.5-5 by the end. But remember to make a good carmel speed is not your friend, the sugar needs a good amount of cooking time to turn into a nice rich flavor 4. the first time i made this i took it all the way to the reccommended level of 250, i thought it was a little on the tough side. The second time i made it i stopped around the 242-245 mark. I liked this temp better as they were not as tough but still chewy. 5 . This is excellent in cookie bowls. Press cookies into minimuffin tins making bowls. Bake as directed. Let them cool. fill with carmaely goodness and let set up. They'll rock your face off! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
These caramels taste great! I followed the recipe exactly as written and used suggestions from several other reviewers: I calibrated my candy thermometer, I used a regular stainless steel pot, and made sure that I had plenty of time to devote to stirring. I dipped apples in some and then poured the rest up for candy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Just made these and they are DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
LOVED THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made these for Christmas and still have people begging me to make more in August! All of my friends have tried to shortcut salted chocolate-covered caramels and say nothing matches these :). This recipe will be part of our Christmas tradition. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Great easy recipe. A few others have mentioned: use a larger pot than you think you'll need! The mixture inflates quite a bit. Wasn't sure what to expect for cooking times and mine was a little faster than others... At medium-high heat it still took around 20 minutes which I think might have been a bit too quick... Will have to try lower/longer next time. Tried this the other day but used B grade maple syrup instead of corn syrup. It came out a little softer than I'd like so obviously the change requires a little more cooking time (I'm guessing around 255-260). The maple syrup packs a flavor punch... very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States