Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This recipe just didn't work out for me at all. A half rate caramel sauce at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I sprinkled some sea salt on top after it cooled some, and I highly recommend it. My coworkers went nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Henrietta, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made this recipe with a few changes made out of necessity! I had 600ml of cream to use up, which is bit more than 1 pint, so i used less milk accordingly (Full fat milk not evaporated as that is all i had). I also used glucose syrup instead of corn syrup, because that is what i had in the pantry and also only had about 3/4 cup. (plus corn syrup is hard to find here in australia) I put it into my largest saucepan which only JUST fitted. When it started bubbling up i had to take it off the heat a few times till the bubbles subsided! As the mixture reduced though this ceased being a problem. I actually cooked it on the highest heat, coz i couldn't be bothered to stand there for hours stirring and waiting for it to get up to temp. It took just over 1/2 hour to get to the right temp. I poured it into a 23cm square pan and let it cool at room temp overnight. In the morning it cut up beautifully into small squares. And the TASTE!!!! AMAZING!!! I had previously made some caramels like this, only with that recipe you are not supposed to stir while it boils and they came out very chewy, as in stick-jaw-style chewy! But this recipe, with all that stirring turned out wonderful! Chewy enough so that you can still bite them easily. I imagine that the chewiness would also depend on how little or much you cook the mix. I will definitely be making them again, they made a lovely gift too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Very easy recipe, even though it was my first time making candy. My only complaint is that the finished product is rather oily. Some tips for first-timers like myself: an 8-quart pot is too big. Your candy thermometer will not be submerged enough and will not register the temperature properly, and you will have to use the cold water test to tell when you're done. Also, parchment paper is apparently not the same thing as waxed paper. We ended up having to cut the caramel off the waxed paper we used to line the pan. But it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
this is actually my mom's acount but i tried this as my first at making any candy at all and my mom said it turned out perfect :D, thank you sooooo very much for posting this recipe, if i had ended up choosing a bad recipe i probably would have never made any caramel in a long time. i love this recipe and will definately use it many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
We use this recipe to make caramel apples. Wonderfully gooey, chewy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
We made this caramels to coated our apple. This recipe doesn't work for us, it was too runny and doesn't stick on the apple after so many attempt we finally just dip the apple into it. It taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Excellent caramel; used it to dip my pretzels and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Easy and gained my 92 y/o grandfather's approval. Not bad for a first try. I cooked a bit too long and would fix that by taking it off the heat a degree or two before it reaches temp. The final product was just a bit less "chewy" than I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These were absolutely amazing! My first time making them, they turned out so perfect, I decided to make another batch. The second batch turned out too hard for my liking, so, based on other reviewers saying they reheated them because they weren't firm enough, to get them to a higher temp to firm them up, I reheated them to about 140 degrees, added about 1/4 c heavy cream, stirred them together, and they turned out AMAZING! I pressed a little sea salt on the top of about half of them, wrapped them in wax paper, and took them to our Christmas bunco, and the salted ones were the first ones gone! Totally worth making! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States