Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This tastes excelent but it was way too soft. I think my temp was too low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Thank you, Barbara, for sharing this wonderful recipe. I am not a candy-maker but just couldn't resist trying my hand today at one of my most favorite treats. Thank you, reviewers, for your helpful hints. If it wasn't for you I really don't think my caramels would have turned out as perfect as they did. I am so excited about this that I can't wait to do it again. My friends and family are going to be so excited to receive this beautiful and tasty gift! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Phew! After about an hour and a half of constant stirring, these are magnificent. Make sure you have a good candy thermometer, a patient and attentive hand, and a clean, lightly greased cookie sheet. I suggest sprinkling on some coarse sea salt. It makes them look beautiful and taste even better. Cut these into SMALL squares. They are rich and very chewy! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These are a new staple in my Christmas baking!!! These were AMAZING!!! (Just make sure you have 1-2 hour(s) to cook them before you start). Seriously- worth the wait!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
A few questions about this recipe- 1) what temp do you cook it at 2) do you stir it the entire time or just let it go 3) if you want to add something to it, should you do it after it is made and you are pouring it on the pan or while it is cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Delicious and fairly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Just made these today. Followed other reviewers suggestions and bought a 4 qt. pot that was NOT non-stick. Took about an hour to get to just under 250 degrees on candy thermometer with 1 minor adjustment to the heat. Added a bad of chopped pecans, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I forgot to add that if you decide to make these and are new to caramel making, please keep in mind that it can be a lengthy process. Mine generally have to bubble away on a med/low heat for a solid 45 mins, maybe more until they reach the 248 - 250 degree area. Also, please, I beg of you, do NOT substitute margarine for the butter. Yes, a cup of butter is a lot, but all things in moderation. I never, ever, make these more than twice a year (no matter how bad my cravings might get!) My Christmas batch is bubbling away right now. I sometimes, (like now for my Christmas batch), use real vanilla bean ... just split and scrape a bean as per normal. The little black flecks in the caramels look sooo yummy!! No doubt about vanilla in there at all, that's for sure. If you're not big on vanilla, skip it altogether -- these caramels have enough of their own flavor that it can easily be left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Theese are perfect for dipping in chocolate, or on their own! Turned out flawlessly and were a big hit with friends and family. Easy to make too, just take it slow and watch the thermometer. When it hits the right temperature it very quickly browns and thickens so you need to be ready to remove it from the heat and get it into the pan to cool. It took about 50 minutes to hit the correct temperature and I stirred and watched it the whole time. They cut nicely too, but I found rubbing some olive oil on my knife periodicly helped it glide through no problem. Loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I love these! But I sprinkle a few pieces of sea salt on the bottom of the pan before I pour the caramel in. The salt enhances the flavor so much. I can't get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States