Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
My son wanted to make caramels. This was fairly labor intensive, but holy moses they are GOOD. We topped them with some large flakes of sea salt. Hubby took some to work and they were a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by padecakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I love caramel- this is the first recipe that I had success. I made this caramels and then used them to make turtles. Everyone loved them. It does take quite some time to make and you can not rush it. But I will these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is so good and so easy! You do want to use a large pot though. I watched the color as I cooked it and when it was the color I thought was right, it was done. The caramels came out perfectly and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I just used this recipe and it came out awesome! I didn't have a thermometer so I just cooked it until I got around the consistency I wanted and did the water test (drizzled a little into cold water). It came out great! Very popular! I doubt there is going to be any left for myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I didn't have heavy cream or evaporated milk so I used sweetened condensed milk (1 can) and 2%milk instead and it came out great, the only thing I did wrong was heated too quickly and scorched the milk a bit....I would recommend 6-7max for your burner temp, and stir frequently after the caramel expands (and use a large pot!). I lined my pan with wax paper and I also sprinkled course sea salt on top after poring the caramel, and it's sooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Delicious, even though I used candy thermometer they came out too soft. I poured it into a pan lined with greased wax paper. Bad idea. It's all stuck to it. I will make it again and try to fix my mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I love these! They are easy to make but be patient, it takes a long time to reach 250 degrees F, but it is worth the wait. I greese a jelly roll pan and poor it in, spreading to make it even. Let it cool for a while and score it with a knife then I use kitchen shears to cut them, let them finish setting and wrap in wax paper. These are always a hit. I add walnuts and a little salt to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was my first time making caramel, and even working with sugar, but the caramels turned out wonderfully! I read a lot of previous reviews which helped a lot, and was able to make some caramels to give to friends and teachers for Valentines day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Caramels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States