Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Theese are perfect for dipping in chocolate, or on their own! Turned out flawlessly and were a big hit with friends and family. Easy to make too, just take it slow and watch the thermometer. When it hits the right temperature it very quickly browns and thickens so you need to be ready to remove it from the heat and get it into the pan to cool. It took about 50 minutes to hit the correct temperature and I stirred and watched it the whole time. They cut nicely too, but I found rubbing some olive oil on my knife periodicly helped it glide through no problem. Loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I love these! But I sprinkle a few pieces of sea salt on the bottom of the pan before I pour the caramel in. The salt enhances the flavor so much. I can't get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
First time ever making caramels, or candy of any kind, and it was surprisingly easy to do and turned out so much better than I thought it would!!!! The caramels are delicious ... better than the ones I buy at the store. The extra tips were so helpful, like not using a lot of butter while cooling them (I sprayed with pam and then wiped most of it off). The only problem I had was that I didn't wait for them to totally cool before I cut them and put them in waxed paper, so they stuck a bit to the paper. I will remember with the next batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Great taste but more like Werthers than a caramel. Next time will lower the 250 degrees to around 244 to make them a little softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Steelville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
As a culinary arts student, I've learned to cook the sugar until it simply caramelizes. It should be a consistency to where it doesn't drip like water but it DOES drip. A good twist to add to it is cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Wow! These are so delicious! I made them for Thanksgiving and everyone who tried them had to have another and another... The only thing that I did to change the recipe was that I sprinkled sea salt over the top as soon as I poured them onto the jelly roll pan. They didn't cool as quickly as I had assumed they might, but I just left them to cool overnight and they were good to go the next morning. I am going to try to find the candy wrapping papers online. Anyway, be prepared to stir for close to an hour, but according to my entire family, they were worth the wait! Great recipe; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
These caramels are awesome! Everyone that tried them said I should sell them and they keep asking for more, saying they're the best caramels they've ever had. Though it is labor intensive, the worst part for me was cutting and wrapping them at the end. I think next time I'll buy pre-made candy wrappers rather than using wax paper that kept sticking to the caramels. Definitely a recipe that I'll be keeping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I have been using this recipe for a few years now and I've never had a bad batch. It is delicious and perfect! Few tips: 1. Line the pan you pour the caramel mixture into with parchment paper. This way you can lift it out once it is completely cool and makes for easy cutting and also gives you a nonstick surface to cut on! 2. Cut the caramels with a CERAMIC KNIFE. I use my Yoshi Blades and never have a problem with the caramel sticking and it cuts with ease. When you use a regular knife it hurts your arm and takes much longer. 3. Make sure you monitor the temperature from 240* - 250* VERY CLOSELY! It jumps rapidly there at the end. I let my caramel mixture cool overnight at room temperature prior to cutting. I also buy candy wrappers from Michaels Craft Store for $1.99 and use those to wrap my candies. You can store these in the freezer if you are not planning on eating them all right away. I store 1/2 in the refrigerator and 1/2 in the freezer and microwave for 15 seconds when I have a taste for one. Instant satisfaction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melaniem
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Excellent recipe! This was my first try at caramel. I went with a cooking temperature of just past Medium on my cooktop. I stirred for approximately 50 minutes when it starting browning slightly and decided to take it off at 242 degrees as I did not want to scorch it. It came out perfect. It set up nicely and I used a very long knife for cutting it up into smaller pieces. I did find that cutting in small rectangles was easier to wrap as squares seemed to tear once I wrapped them with the waxpaper pieces. Very buttery and rich and I will never buy caramel at the store anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
1st time making caramel and I didn't even have a candy thermometer! I have been wanting to make homemade caramel for caramel apples, but haven't found a candy thermometer in the stores. Then I read about the hard ball method (dropping drips in water). It WORKED! It did take over an hour and I did have to transfer to a larger pot because it nearly doubles during boiling, but I stirred and waited and sure enough... YUMMY caramel! My slight alterations: Added a pinch of sea salt at the end and with the leftovers after the caramel apples, I put peanuts and chocolate on the cookie sheet and covered with caramel. (Tried to post a picture but couldn't make the file size small enough for site or sight).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States