Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I love caramel- this is the first recipe that I had success. I made this caramels and then used them to make turtles. Everyone loved them. It does take quite some time to make and you can not rush it. But I will these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is so good and so easy! You do want to use a large pot though. I watched the color as I cooked it and when it was the color I thought was right, it was done. The caramels came out perfectly and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I just used this recipe and it came out awesome! I didn't have a thermometer so I just cooked it until I got around the consistency I wanted and did the water test (drizzled a little into cold water). It came out great! Very popular! I doubt there is going to be any left for myself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I didn't have heavy cream or evaporated milk so I used sweetened condensed milk (1 can) and 2%milk instead and it came out great, the only thing I did wrong was heated too quickly and scorched the milk a bit....I would recommend 6-7max for your burner temp, and stir frequently after the caramel expands (and use a large pot!). I lined my pan with wax paper and I also sprinkled course sea salt on top after poring the caramel, and it's sooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Delicious, even though I used candy thermometer they came out too soft. I poured it into a pan lined with greased wax paper. Bad idea. It's all stuck to it. I will make it again and try to fix my mistakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I love these! They are easy to make but be patient, it takes a long time to reach 250 degrees F, but it is worth the wait. I greese a jelly roll pan and poor it in, spreading to make it even. Let it cool for a while and score it with a knife then I use kitchen shears to cut them, let them finish setting and wrap in wax paper. These are always a hit. I add walnuts and a little salt to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was my first time making caramel, and even working with sugar, but the caramels turned out wonderfully! I read a lot of previous reviews which helped a lot, and was able to make some caramels to give to friends and teachers for Valentines day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Caramels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These came out so good! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Good, easy, recipe. I used two candy thermometers. Dark brown sugar, added salt, used parchment paper in a heavy, pottery type pan 5x9 for poured hot Carmel. Hint, set four glasses on top of parchment while Carmel was cooking. Removed just before pouring. Used blue painter's removable tape on two outside sides to hold down paper while pouring. Carmel filled pan perfectly. I cooked the ingredients on 4 for one hour occasionally stirring with wire whisk, making sure sides were whisked into center. The hour is needed to break down all sugars in mixture; this is a food science technique. Important to use fresh ingredients with salted butter. I stopped at 235 degrees with raised burner temp to 5 for the last ten minutes past one hour. Stirred rapidly after adding vanilla. Cooled on other stovetop burner, then hour later, placed parchment sheet on top and placed in non used oven. Directions did not indicate refrigeration, but due to dairy in product, I did. No problem cutting with good poultry scissors after cooled four hours later before refrigerator. Could use added orange, rum, or other flavored liqueur to boost flavor beyond just good vanilla. Stay close by if you have never made candy before. Sit on a stool with a book and check thermometer frequently. Carmel was perfect, not too soft and not too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States