Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
1st time making caramel and I didn't even have a candy thermometer! I have been wanting to make homemade caramel for caramel apples, but haven't found a candy thermometer in the stores. Then I read about the hard ball method (dropping drips in water). It WORKED! It did take over an hour and I did have to transfer to a larger pot because it nearly doubles during boiling, but I stirred and waited and sure enough... YUMMY caramel! My slight alterations: Added a pinch of sea salt at the end and with the leftovers after the caramel apples, I put peanuts and chocolate on the cookie sheet and covered with caramel. (Tried to post a picture but couldn't make the file size small enough for site or sight).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I love this recipe and caramels..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
this was the first time i have ever made caramel/toffee.... it didnt harden. but that was my fault because we did not have a candy thermometer. i was thinking that i could just wait until the hard ball stage. i cooked it for approx. an hour and it was pretty thick and we poured it on the pan to cool, but it never hardened, and it has the consistency of peanut butter. but its still so delicious so im going to use it as a spread to put on toast or ice cream! we put it in a huge jar and we had to take out 2 spoonfuls because we made so much! anyways, if you want to try something new, do what i did, its completely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is a terrific recipe! I was simply looking to get rid of some leftover heavy cream and only had a 1/2 pint. So I cut the recipe in half... worked like a dream. I cooked it to about 245 degrees and did as someone else suggested by cranking up the heat a bit at about 225 degrees. I also used the water test to make double sure I was at the hardball stage. It took about 30 minutes from the moment it started to boil. I also sprinkled the pan with coarse sea salt after I poured in the hot caramel. Yum! Yum! Yum! I'm only sorry I had to half the recipe and wish I could have doubled it instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Fantastic! Read the reviews for advice. You MUST stir constantly for about 1 hour! Additional ingredients - bottle of wine, a movie and good friends to take shifts stirring. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Temple

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
These were phenomenal!! does take a bit of time (especially the wrapping) but well worth it. Watch the stages, I used a candy thermometer but also took the suggestion of other reviewers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
People can call me crazy but I love the plain old caramels way more than the different recipes with a twist that just seems to make it worst but I do absolutely love the chocolate covered ones. I'm the one that you would call the crazy chocolate lady.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Love caramel and this one is simple and tasty.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Very easy, and good recipe! Tastes like Worther's Soft chews! Summary of my experience and advice. 1. Use 1/2 white, 1/2 brown sugar. The Brown Sugar adds a nice richness. 2. I replaced the whipping cream with Light Cream, and it turned out just as well as the original. 3. you will be standing at your stove for awhile, so get comfy. Remember the key to keeping it from burning is to start low, go slow, and KEEP STIRING! You can let it set for about 5 seconds, then you need to move it around a little. Start it out on low heat (my stove goes from sim-7 i started on about a 3) when the temp on the thermometer stalls out bump up the heat just a little (i went to 3.5) and.....KEEP STIIIIIRRRRIIINNGGG!!! i bumped mine up all the way to a 4.5-5 by the end. But remember to make a good carmel speed is not your friend, the sugar needs a good amount of cooking time to turn into a nice rich flavor 4. the first time i made this i took it all the way to the reccommended level of 250, i thought it was a little on the tough side. The second time i made it i stopped around the 242-245 mark. I liked this temp better as they were not as tough but still chewy. 5 . This is excellent in cookie bowls. Press cookies into minimuffin tins making bowls. Bake as directed. Let them cool. fill with carmaely goodness and let set up. They'll rock your face off! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
These caramels taste great! I followed the recipe exactly as written and used suggestions from several other reviewers: I calibrated my candy thermometer, I used a regular stainless steel pot, and made sure that I had plenty of time to devote to stirring. I dipped apples in some and then poured the rest up for candy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States