Caramels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This recipe produced the most amazing caramels I've ever tasted!! I calibrated my candy thermometer as recommended by a reviewer, and found that it was 10 degrees off! So...I used the cold water test, and it turned out perfectly. Definitely will make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
These turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly as written. My only dislike was that they turned out a bit hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made these on Christmas Eve to take to relatives Christmas day. I've never made candy before, and this was very easy for a beginner. It did take about 40 minutes like others have said. I also used Cane Sugar syrup instead of Corn syrup, and my caramels came out quite soft. Not sure if this is the reason, but it's the only thing I changed. I'm in Houston at nearly sea level, and I checked that my thermometer was calibrated. Of course I hadn't realized that it would take quite some time to wrap all of these. I got nearly 150 caramels from this recipe! Will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Contreras Murrah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This recipe completely failed on me. I've been making candies since I was 6 and I followed the recipe precisely and cooked it on low to make sure that it wouldn't burn. When it reached 250 F I took it off, added the vanilla and let it cool. The fact that it didn't solidify didn't bother me (I can fix that), but it tasted terrible. I could have made a caramel like that by boiling a can of Condensed milk.... I wouldn't recommend this. It isn't worth the pint of Heavy Whipping Cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Wonderful recipe!! I'd give it 5 stars if it wasn't so greasy. They probably wouldn't be as tasty if it wasn't for all the butter either so what can I do , eh. I have found using parchment paper instead of greasing the pan helps. Also I'm a big ghost pepper fan and discovered that adding a 1/4 teaspoon of finely ground ghost pepper in with the vanilla gives these a nice kick that most people really enjoy. They are a big hit at parties ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Fabulous! It takes a L O N G time to get to 250 degrees. If you rush it, you will scorch it and ruin it. But if you just keep stirring for about an hour, and watch that thermometer, it will be awesome. Besides plain caramels, I also use this as a base for pecan turtles, roasting the pecan halves for about 7 minutes at 350, then dropping them in about half of the caramel and scooping out in heaping teaspoons, then coating in good chocolate after they solidify for a while. My husband says that it can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Best caramels ever!!! I have made this recipe for a few years now. Thanks Barbara! Yes I've had a few sacrifices to caramel gods but that goes with lots of recipes. Everyone's stoves are different and so are their thermometers. Even if you go old school the candy is different on different days. Any experienced cook knows the weather and temp of your house can affect things. Main thing to remember is to stir!! While you don't have to stir it constantly you do need to do it very often. On my stove. Slightly higher than medium is best. It gets to 220 very quickly but the last 30 degrees takes forever. I just grab a stool and stick close. That's when it needs the most attention. I've tried to say. It's good enough but if you don't cook it to just the right temp for the right amount of time you will have very soft caramels. I use a jelly roll pan. And I make one and a half of the recipe. It turns out great. If you do pour it on top of wax paper you still need to lightly spray it. At least I should have. Spent forever peeling it off and wasted precious caramel. They are better the next day when they have set. Still the best recipe I've ever found!! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe several times. My wife took some to her fellow teachers and they begged for more. I decided to coat some with dark chocolate and sprinkled a few with sea salt. WOW!! I'm the most wanted this Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I tried a 'fancy' no-stir recipe first, but it came out with big dark chunks...even though I hadn't stirred. So I decided to try this one, which seemed much easier. I was very careful to not scrape the bottom or sides while I was stirring, as I didn't want those big chunks again. Didn't seem to matter… Got the big chunks anyway. And after 60 minutes I finally gave up and poured it into the pan. I kept the heat between medium and medium high but was unable to ever reach the 250° mark. They are a pretty color, except for all the freckled black spots from the bottom of the pan. I think I'm done with caramels…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Caramel turns a dark golden brown and gets thick towards the end. Used the cold water test. Keep a close eye on it towards the end cos temp climbs fast three for maybe turn it down a bit towards the end. Put it on nonstick foil. Use 10.25 x 15.25 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States