Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and it always comes out perfect. I too cut the butter in half and I also changed the sugar to 1 c sugar and 1 c brown sugar. I've made it with 2 c brown sugar too. My family loves the richer taste that the brown sugar gives the caramels. This is a very easy and fail proof recipe as long as you keep the heat on medium to low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I've made caramels from a few different recipes, and this one is my favorite. I do, however, tweak it quite a bit. First, I only use 1 cup corn syrup. I boil the sugar and corn syrup to 350 degrees, then remove from heat and add butter (only about 1 stick, usually less) and 1 tsp. salt. Then I add the cream to the mixture, but I heat it first. Add the hot cream in a slow stream while stirring constantly, then return to the heat and boil to 250 degrees. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I really enoyed this recipe "as is". I read several reviews were people had problems with the consistancy of the caramel. 245 t0 250 degrees is the standard for firm ball stage at sea level. If you are above sea level then you should use your thermometer to see at what temperature water boils at your altitude. You then subtract that temperature from the standard of 212 degrees that water boils at sea level. Using that differential, subtract it from the standard 245-250 firm ball stage and that will give you a more accurate temperature of what the firm ball stage is at your altitude. EXAMPLE: I live at 4700 ft. water boils here at 213 degrees. For firm ball at my altitude I shoot for 236 to 241 degrees. Also, you should shut the heat off a few degrees early as the temperature will continue to rise even after you remove it from the heat. I hope that this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
My husband, my coworkers and I really dig this recipe. The caramels are fresh, buttery, smooth and addictive. I changed one thing about the recipe, however, and added another step - first, I cook it just a little longer to 245 degrees as opposed to 245. Also, I found that if I "polish" the cut caramels with corn starch that they aren't so greasy. I do this by coating each one in corn starch and letting them sit for 10-15 minutes and then wiping off the cornstarch with a cloth or paper towel. The starch absorbs the excess grease without changing the flavor or consistency. This also makes them less apt to stick to the wrapper or plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHALOZBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This recipe is very easy and results in creamy, chewy caramels that won't pull your fillings out. If you don't get them firm enough or cooked to the right temp the first time, don't be afraid to re-melt it down again and heat it up to the correct temp. These are also great with chopped pecans stirred in and look cute wrapped in wax paper wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I've made this recipes soooo many times now it's hard to count and everyone loves them!!! Instead of a 9 x 13 inch pan, I use an 11 x 13 cookie sheet and the size is perfect (plus you get a lot more)!!! A couple of things - I cook mine to 238 degrees and I make sure that I line my pan with foil first before pouring the caramel into the pan. Easy to remove and easy cleanup! Great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Yummmm!!! I've made a couple batches so far and they keep dissapearing! I found that as long as it's heated to between 238 & 242, they come out so soft and chewy! For a carmel sauce, stop it at about 220-225. I found that I wanted to add an extra dash of vanilla. I add marshmallows to one batch and made Carmarsh and oh was that wonderful... same with the Pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I have now made these 3 times in a week. The first time I had to change pans 3 times - make sure you have a BIG pan or it will boil over!! Needless to say, they came out a little on the soft side. I used that caramel as filling for my turtles - worked perfectly! The next 2 times I used a 5 quart kettle. The only problem I had was it seemed to take forever to get to 242. I just couldn't wait. Yummy - 5 Stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I've been looking for a good caramel recipe for a while now, and I was very pleased with this one. I, as some of the other reviewers, had to adjust the temperature to which I boiled the sugar mixture in order to ensure a chewey and creamy caramel, but my second attempt came out perfectly even though I didn't have any cream on hand (instead, i used a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and it worked beautifully) The caramels are extremely creamy and smooth-- i'll most likely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Well worth the time and effort, my family LOVED these caramels. The first time they came out way too hard, so I let them cool, melted them down and brought them back to the right temperature. I added pecans, and heating the mixture again didn't hurt the nuts. Remember to calibrate your thermometer in a pot of boiling water, I live at a really high altitude and my thermometer was off by 12 entire degrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States