Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This is great caramel. I halved the recipe cause when I do the whole one it overflows my pan. Time for a new pan, everyone loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISHAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
These are delicious caramels, but either they are supposed to be gooey at room temperature, or I didn't cook long enough. We have to keep them refridgerated. They also are not very dark, so next time we're going to substitute in some brown sugar and a little less butter and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Yummmm!!! I've made a couple batches so far and they keep dissapearing! I found that as long as it's heated to between 238 & 242, they come out so soft and chewy! For a carmel sauce, stop it at about 220-225. I found that I wanted to add an extra dash of vanilla. I add marshmallows to one batch and made Carmarsh and oh was that wonderful... same with the Pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Yummy! I lost my mom's recipe for caramels and this one was just like it. You have to watch the cooking time, each year I have to make two batches because the first one never turns out right. (My candy thermometer was broken.) This is a great recipe! I'll make these again, each year for Christmas. They're great to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This recipe tastes very delicious. It has a wonderful buttery richness. I halved the recipe and used an 8 x 8 pan, and it still turned out well. I didn't have a candy thermometer, but luckily I didn' cook it too longt; it has the perfect, chewy consistency. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I have never, ever experienced homemade caramels that were this unbelievably delicious!!!!!!!!!! The flavor and the texture were both PERFECT. I followed the recipe EXACTLY, and all I used was one of those cheap candy thermometers you buy at the grocery store. A word of caution: Use a LARGE heavy saucepan; the mixture expands quite a bit as it gets hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I made this recipe and everyone loved it. I substituted splenda for the sugar and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Excellent recipe! This recipe has become one of my holiday favorites. It always gets rave reviews and requests for the recipe. I have been doubling the recipe (using a nice thick copper bottom pot) and adding several cups of toasted pecan pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Hmmm. At high altitude (5800 feet) the carmel was overdone at 242 degrees. Next time I am going to do the drop test sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Well worth the time and effort, my family LOVED these caramels. The first time they came out way too hard, so I let them cool, melted them down and brought them back to the right temperature. I added pecans, and heating the mixture again didn't hurt the nuts. Remember to calibrate your thermometer in a pot of boiling water, I live at a really high altitude and my thermometer was off by 12 entire degrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States