Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I was very concerned when I read the instructions to not stir after it begins to boil, but I made it as written and could not have been happier with the results. My friends said that these tasted like the caramels that you buy at the coffee shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
absolutley awesome caramels. Only just starting with making candy and it i was very pleased with teh results. My first batch was way too soft tho, but that was my own fault. First time working witha candythermometer and cheated 3-4 degrees. Too soft, but did gave me awesome ideas about making it as piefilling. Keeping it in the freezer now to reuse later. Was patient on the 2nd batch and added some pecans with it. It was perfect. I did only use 2/3 of the butter tho, seemed plenty and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and it always comes out perfect. I too cut the butter in half and I also changed the sugar to 1 c sugar and 1 c brown sugar. I've made it with 2 c brown sugar too. My family loves the richer taste that the brown sugar gives the caramels. This is a very easy and fail proof recipe as long as you keep the heat on medium to low
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I made these for Christmas gifts. They were delicious. I will add a pinch of salt next time, and I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is the first year I attempted to make any type of candy. I started out with a carmel corn recipe that failed and was scared how this would turn out but it was perfect. I even forgot to add the vanilla but they still tasted great and several people asked for the recipe. Will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
WONDERFUL and so simple. One thing, though. My first batch was so greasy with all that butter. I just made my second batch, and I cut the butter in half. They turned out every bit as good as the first batch, but aren't nearly as greasy, or greasy-looking. This will be my signature candy every Christmas from now on. Thank you so much for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is the perfect caramel recipe. This was my first time making caramels and they turned out wonderful! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I have now made these 3 times in a week. The first time I had to change pans 3 times - make sure you have a BIG pan or it will boil over!! Needless to say, they came out a little on the soft side. I used that caramel as filling for my turtles - worked perfectly! The next 2 times I used a 5 quart kettle. The only problem I had was it seemed to take forever to get to 242. I just couldn't wait. Yummy - 5 Stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I am so excited to finally find a caramel recipe that turns out perfect! I have failed for the last three years trying diffent recipes (too hard, too soft and burned one year). This recipe was super easy to follow. The hardest part was resisting the urge to not stir once all ingredients were in. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This recipe is very easy and results in creamy, chewy caramels that won't pull your fillings out. If you don't get them firm enough or cooked to the right temp the first time, don't be afraid to re-melt it down again and heat it up to the correct temp. These are also great with chopped pecans stirred in and look cute wrapped in wax paper wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States