Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I have to admit that I cheated and stirred (only once or twice, I couldn't help myself!)after adding the heavy (whipping) cream the second time. The bottom of my pan required much scrubbing, HOWEVER, it was worth the effort. These are the most awesome caramels. Next time, I promise not to stir and see if that prevents the extra "scrub-time."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Great recipe. I make this all the time.I used half white and half brown sugar. I also used 2 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp. of butter flavor. I cooked mine on medium heat, stirring often until it started to boil, then added the remaining cream and left it alone until it reached 248 degrees. This is a good temp for caramel apples. I'd probably cook it until it reached at least 255 degrees for caramels, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I followed this recipe to a T and ended up with a sloppy mess. I was very disappointed after reading the great reviews as I ended up with a sloppy mess. I made absolutely sure that the temperatures were exact. Don't waste your time (or money) on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Mine turned out very oily, maybe if I had used less butter it would have turned out better. They were even on the hard side though I followed the directions. My kids did think they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon'sMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Great!!! From a 10 year old child that has celiac
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Excellent! This was the favorite recipe I have made so far. I did not follow the directions exactly, and this also was my first time doing the ball drop test since I had no candy termometer- it turned out perfect. I added roasted salted sunflower seeds and the flaver combo was pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
"Super Nummy" was the response my sweetie gave to these! (He says he's a picky eater, but seems to like everything I've made so far) Only modification I made was to use half brown sugar and half white sugar. Oh...and I couldn't resist stirring a bit while it was boiling. I'm visiting him and my candy thermometer is thousands of miles away so I used the cold water method (which I always do thermometer or not) and stopped boiling when it was kind of a firmish soft stringy ball and they are just right. These are definitely mouth watering (literally) and I'll be using this for the caramel for Turtles this Christmas if all goes as planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefMidwest

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
The flavor of the caramel is incredible, but whenever I cook it up to 242 degrees, it's always too hard, so it's difficult to chew. I live at a high altitude, so that might make a difference. Next time I make it, I'm going to try cooking it to 230, maybe even 225.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! I'll be making these caramels again. I made them exactly as the recipe stated and they are perfect. Great flavor, not greasy at all, glad I left in the butter as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
YuMMMMMMMMM, tastes like "Werther's" (sp?) Oh yummy, mine haven't set up yet, but the taste is amazing. Definately don't take any shortcuts on this one, REAL BUTTER, CREAM, VANILLA THank you for this amazing recipe. Oh, and I used Dark Karo syrup, since it didn't specify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States