Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I followed this recipe to a T and ended up with a sloppy mess. I was very disappointed after reading the great reviews as I ended up with a sloppy mess. I made absolutely sure that the temperatures were exact. Don't waste your time (or money) on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Mine turned out very oily, maybe if I had used less butter it would have turned out better. They were even on the hard side though I followed the directions. My kids did think they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon'sMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Great!!! From a 10 year old child that has celiac
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Excellent! This was the favorite recipe I have made so far. I did not follow the directions exactly, and this also was my first time doing the ball drop test since I had no candy termometer- it turned out perfect. I added roasted salted sunflower seeds and the flaver combo was pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
"Super Nummy" was the response my sweetie gave to these! (He says he's a picky eater, but seems to like everything I've made so far) Only modification I made was to use half brown sugar and half white sugar. Oh...and I couldn't resist stirring a bit while it was boiling. I'm visiting him and my candy thermometer is thousands of miles away so I used the cold water method (which I always do thermometer or not) and stopped boiling when it was kind of a firmish soft stringy ball and they are just right. These are definitely mouth watering (literally) and I'll be using this for the caramel for Turtles this Christmas if all goes as planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefMidwest

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
The flavor of the caramel is incredible, but whenever I cook it up to 242 degrees, it's always too hard, so it's difficult to chew. I live at a high altitude, so that might make a difference. Next time I make it, I'm going to try cooking it to 230, maybe even 225.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe! I'll be making these caramels again. I made them exactly as the recipe stated and they are perfect. Great flavor, not greasy at all, glad I left in the butter as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
YuMMMMMMMMM, tastes like "Werther's" (sp?) Oh yummy, mine haven't set up yet, but the taste is amazing. Definately don't take any shortcuts on this one, REAL BUTTER, CREAM, VANILLA THank you for this amazing recipe. Oh, and I used Dark Karo syrup, since it didn't specify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Great recipe. Since I was making caramel covered apples, I needed more than this recipe called for. I made another recipe on this site (Chewy Caramel) and ended up combining both of them. The Chewy Caramel recipe calls for brown sugar and I thought the combination of the two made a spectacular caramel. I did follow others' advice and reduced the amount of butter by half. This is a perfect recipe by itself or when combined with one made with brown sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPECK03
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
These were so, so good! They reminded me of Worthers, but softer. I made this candy using my pressure cooker pot. It's large enough to accomodate the volume of the caramel since it expands so much during boil, and heavy enough to regulate and hold the heat. Also, if you don't like the texture you get you can absolutely melt these back down and try again. I made an entire batch of these and was just not quite satisfied with neither the texture nor the color, so I tossed them back in the pot for a bit, added some nuts and they were perfect! Finally, I don't have a candy thermometer so I had to do the cold water test. I read somewhere that you should start testing once the bubbles go from the small frothy ones to the larger more defined bubbles. Whether or not it was just dumb luck I don't know, but that's what I did, and it worked for me. Judi K, my tastebuds, my children and my co-workers all thank you for this yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States