Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! As a novice candy maker I found the ball test in cold water to be more reliable than the candy thermometer. This recipe is a hit with the family during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Tried 2 recipes on this site. This has the best flavor. Follow the cooking directions exactly and they are perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
These have wonderful flavor and are relatively simple to make but the temp is a bit off. I cooked to the reco temp and mine are still a bit chewy but kind of hard (I was hoping for a softer candy) so next time I will test during the end stage rather than relying on the temperature. With some experimenting this will make for a nice solid recipe =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I really enoyed this recipe "as is". I read several reviews were people had problems with the consistancy of the caramel. 245 t0 250 degrees is the standard for firm ball stage at sea level. If you are above sea level then you should use your thermometer to see at what temperature water boils at your altitude. You then subtract that temperature from the standard of 212 degrees that water boils at sea level. Using that differential, subtract it from the standard 245-250 firm ball stage and that will give you a more accurate temperature of what the firm ball stage is at your altitude. EXAMPLE: I live at 4700 ft. water boils here at 213 degrees. For firm ball at my altitude I shoot for 236 to 241 degrees. Also, you should shut the heat off a few degrees early as the temperature will continue to rise even after you remove it from the heat. I hope that this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I used half the butter that the recipe called for and no vanilla. I was really pleased with the results. When the caramel was cool enough to the touch but still pliable, I ripped off pieces and rolled them into little balls. When the balls were completely cool, I bathed them in good, melted chocolate and left them to cool. Wow! Little caramel chocolate poppers... what a treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
One word is enough. AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
just as good as Caramels... less ingredients, so I like that alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These are very tasty...at least the part stuck to my spatula was! They are in the fridge cooling as I type. I cooked on low so I didn't burn the caramels, but it took over an hour to get to 242. I cranked the heat up gradually to get it to boil faster, but still kept it no higher than level four on my cooktop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
So Yummy- easy to make and delicious! I'm making my second batch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
First, I only use 1 cup corn syrup. I boil the sugar (1/2 brown sugar) and corn syrup to 350 degrees, then remove from heat and add butter (only about 1 stick, usually less) and 1 tsp. salt. Then I add the cream to the mixture, but I heat it first. Add the hot cream in a slow stream while stirring constantly, then return to the heat and boil to 250 degrees. Comes out perfect every time. Pour into greased 11 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3

Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States