Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I changed this recipe somewhat and they were delicious. I used all dark brown sugar for a richer flavor, rather than 1.5 cups corn syrup I used 1/2 cup corn syrup and 1/2 cup honey, also just 1/2 the butter called for. I cooked it all in a heavy cusinart cast iron pot and it took about an hour or so. It got rave reviews. I've now made this three times all with the above changes. Once I put two squares of unsweetened chocolate in the batch for chocalate caramels. Yummy This last time I made a half batch of regular and they are perfect. I heated them in a 10 inch cast iron skillet which worked great. Some have mentioned this mix expanding but I've had no issues with it expanding too much. Perhaps it's the cast iron containers I use which spreds out the heat more evenly or that I'm not pressing the issue by using too high of heat. For this last batch I made it only took a half hour or less. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Best caramel recipe I have found. I like to use 1 cup of light brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar for a little extra caramel flavor. Each time I make them, at least one person asks for the recipe. It seems unbelievable that something this easy to make can taste so incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
These are sooooo good. Careful with the size of your pot, the first time I used a 4 quart pot, it is too small and when the mix bubbles up it goes over the side and makes a BIG MESS. Tried second time with an 8 qt pot, worked perfectly. Instead of the corn syrup, I used Lyle's Golden Syrup, found in baking section or syrup section at the market, it gives a better caramel flavor. Def grease the pan, I used parchment on the bottom, and buttered that a little. Start at medium and gradually reaise heat after temp reaches 235, if you do on high, med high from the beginning, bottom burns. Also, stir the whole time hitting the bottom, or mix will get brown flecks/burnt specks in it. As good as anything I have ever bought, and I am a caramel freak. Office staff gave raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I love this recipe! I also cut down on the corn syrup and use some brown sugar, but it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This wasnt very caramel tasting. It was good, but it tasted more like corn syrup than anything else. I probably will never make these again. They just didnt have the caramel taste I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These turned out DELICIOUS, someone recommended putting cornstarch on to keep them from being sticky, and that sort of weirded out the taste--- so i wouldn't do that again- maybe i'll just dip them in chocolate- that'll solve the sticky problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I have now made these for the 5th or 6th. time. Each time , getting better and better. My candy thermometer may be a little off, as 250 is too soft. Good time though to start testing by dropping in cold water and feeling and tasting the consistency. This last time I used about 2 cups of cashew nuts at the last minute, and I don't know how to describe the goodness. This is one that you can honestly say, "You can't eat just one." I STRONGLY suggest that you use parchment paper in your pan. No grease necessary and it will NOT stick. I also use a pastry cutter to cut into pieces. I also use plastic wrap as long as I can fit on the counter, space the pieces along both edges and roll up to center. Cut with scissors, then just tear pieces apart to finish the wrap. As I write this I see it is 242 degrees on thermometer, sorry, it should be slightly above 250. (MY thermometer may be off, but the water testing is the best)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
These are so awesome and so easy!!My first try they were a bit too hard to eat, so I just put them back in the sauce pan, mixed in a little more cream and they set up to the perfect texture. Now that is a forgiving recipe. The color is beautiful. The light gold hue did throw me off, since I thought the mixture needed to cook more. Go by your thermometer not your eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! As a novice candy maker I found the ball test in cold water to be more reliable than the candy thermometer. This recipe is a hit with the family during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Tried 2 recipes on this site. This has the best flavor. Follow the cooking directions exactly and they are perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States