Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is such a fabulous recipe! It is hands down my favorite, my go-to recipe for soft caramels. They turn out perfectly every time, and the ingredients are basic and simple and perfect. I make these exactly as written, except I usually skip the vanilla and sprinkle the caramels with some granular sea salt when they are almost firm. So delicious! I also like to dip them in tempered chocolate, and than sprinkle some sea salt on top of the chocolate. Absolutely to die for! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Pathos57
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I make this recipe each year at Christmas and I follow the directions and ingredients exactly as written. They are soft, buttery and richer than any store-bought caramel. I agree with one reviewer that dusting the caramel with cornstarch and letting it sit 5 - 10 minute before dusting them off to reduce the butter on the surface. I've also cut thin strips and rolled the strip into a snake before winding it around a pretzel rod. Dip this in chocolate and voile', you have a chocolate caramel pretzel rod Christmas tree. These always get rave reviews and while I choose low humidity cold days to make candy, & I'm careful with measuring and use an accurate thermometer, the result is I've never had a batch fail. This is a GREAT recipe for those that are novice candy makers, too. Once you make this, you'll NEVER want store caramel again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I ran out of corn syrup! So, I used about 3/4 c light corn syrup, about 1/4 c dark corn syrup (ran out of that too), almost 1/2 c honey, and finished off the half cup with real maple syrup. It tasted excellent, not like dark corn syrup, maple or honey. It set just fine, though I had to use a couple tablespoons of maple syrup. Nice and chewy, and easy to wrap in the wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I used heavy cream that came from our goat Myrna. I had never made candy before and was suspicious by how easy the recipe seemed and how the consistent the reviews were. Despite some guesswork in heat level and timing, these caramels are absolutely the best I've ever had. Their consistency is perfect and they melt in your mouth with hardly a chewing. I stuck to the recipe but am looking forward to trying some of the tips other reviewers mentioned, hoping to make them less unhealthy. No matter if I'm successful or not, these delicacies will be served in our family for a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These were wonderful and highly addictive just they way the recipe was listed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I got them up to temp. but didn't harden. Still good I chilled, wrapped and then kept them in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Stoner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I had never attempted caramels before, and this recipe worked well for me. I read many of the other reviews and used some suggestions. I used 1 stick of butter only, and I substituted 1 c of brown sugar for the white. I was careful to use medium heat to bring to a boil, but after adding the rest of the cream I slowly turned up to medium high, as it was taking a LONG time to heat up. I went to 238-240 F. I used a large pot as recommended. I'll add these to my Christmas repertoire now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I subbed dark corn syrup (I always use this in caramels) and brown sugar for half of the sugar. Resulted in wonderful, rich caramels. I also sprinkle some with sea salt for salted caramels. Yummmmmmmmmmy. The basic recipe is incredible. thank you. I also doubled this recipe, which I don't recommend unless you have helpers for the stirring. It took 1 1/2 hours for them to come to the right temp. I now have arms like Popeye! But, worth it! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I have about the same recipe. I add a can of sweeten condense milk in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I replaced the corn syrup with honey and molasis and I did not bother with a candy thermometer, I just checked for the hard ball stage. It is a good recipe for playing with, and I plan to make lavender flavored caramels next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States