Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
this recipe didn't work for me. i tried it with my friend and the carmel turned to hard to bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These were butttery and had a nice smooth texture, but they didn't take on the deep caramel flavor I was looking for. I would try this recipe again with more sugar and less corn syrup, as 1 1/2 cups isn't really necessary to keep the sugar from crystallizing and it doesn't bring that deep caramel flavor. That being said, this recipe results in a nice light, buttery, caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I was hugely dissapointed. The caramels just taste like corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I gave this five stars,My first time making this recipe and it turned out wonderful my boys absolutely loved it,this one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I lovemyfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Wow! Everyone just gobbled these down! I dipped them in melted dark Giradellis chocolate and they disappeared! The best part...I have TMJ and I could eat these!!!!!! Followed exact recipe and they were very soft and creamy! Five stars to the contributor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Great recipe! I took the advice of other reviewers and instead of 2 cups white sugar I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. Note: watch the temperature carefully, if it's too hot then the caramel will be too hard! Next time I will maybe coat with chocolate and top with a bit of sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI5678

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
excellent recipe-I am always nervous about making caramels because they are an exact science-cook them below the exact temp and they are too soft/cook them too long and they are hard candy. I followed recipe exactly and they were perfect!!! thanks sooo much!!they were a big hit at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This makes amazing caramels! Just as good (if not better) than the boutique caramels you buy for a high price. I made these and gave them in a gift bag to my colleagues for a Christmas present and they were a big hit. I did have to heat them to the "hard ball stage" as I followed the recipe exactly the first time and they came out too runny, but at the hard ball stage, they were perfect caramels. I will be making this recipe every year for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
yammy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abou ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These were wonderful caramels!!! I did follow others recomendation and cut butter to 3/4 c. They took 1 1/2 hrs to cook, but so much easier than my other recipe that you have to stir for an hour. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States