Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I was scared to try these as I have never made caramels before. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used Margarine instead of butter. They turned out great, They do take awile to cook I kept them at a low temp. Very creamy and held their shape well. I will be making these for teacher gifts for Christmas this year. A definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This recipe is amazing! I was unsure as to how high the heat had to be after adding the second cup of cream but discovered that if the heat was too low the caramel would (obviously) not heat to the correct temperature so I ended up turning up the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I've made caramels from a few different recipes, and this one is my favorite. I do, however, tweak it quite a bit. First, I only use 1 cup corn syrup. I boil the sugar and corn syrup to 350 degrees, then remove from heat and add butter (only about 1 stick, usually less) and 1 tsp. salt. Then I add the cream to the mixture, but I heat it first. Add the hot cream in a slow stream while stirring constantly, then return to the heat and boil to 250 degrees. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is truly a "melt in your mouth" candy....can't stop eating them!!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I've never made candy before but I found this recipe to be SOOO easy and very delicious! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Turned out a little soft but it was very tasty. I added pecans and that toned down the sweetness of the caramels. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Delfzyl, Groningen, Netherlands
Living In: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
The flavor was great but they came out harder than chewy. I went to 242 degrees so next time I'll try a lower temperature for a softer candy. Very easy to make and well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These are wonderful. We made one batch and plan to make another today or tomorrow! I did use a heavy, tall pan and was careful not to overcook them. About 240 degrees gave us a chewy caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
It would be good to find out approximately how long this needs to boil until it reaches the proper temperature, as mine took an incredibly long time. I also wish I'd read the one further review that said to cook in an extra large pan - I had to ladle out some of the mixture half way through the cooking time because it was boiling over. Also, what temp are you supposed to boil at (without stirring) as my mixture burned on the bottom?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States