Caramels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
These were excellent. Everyone loves them. I had never made caramels before. They are easy to make, they just take a little time. I have the husband and daughter wrap them for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I've made this recipes soooo many times now it's hard to count and everyone loves them!!! Instead of a 9 x 13 inch pan, I use an 11 x 13 cookie sheet and the size is perfect (plus you get a lot more)!!! A couple of things - I cook mine to 238 degrees and I make sure that I line my pan with foil first before pouring the caramel into the pan. Easy to remove and easy cleanup! Great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
These were fantastic! I impressed the heck out of my family and friends with these delicious caramels. Easy to make....you don't even need to keep stirring after adding cream! Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
this is a wonderful recipe! i made these a few months ago for friends and had to make it 3 more times due to demand! never had any problems with this recipe. very easy to follow. la la la. i love it! Halloween is just around the corner and i've been dreaming of this caramel for caramel apples! i must leave a warning note though... you cannot eat just ONE! very addictive!!! love it love it love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
in the words of my friend's mother (who rarely eats candy), "either give me the recipe or give me a big jar of them."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I've been looking for a good caramel recipe for a while now, and I was very pleased with this one. I, as some of the other reviewers, had to adjust the temperature to which I boiled the sugar mixture in order to ensure a chewey and creamy caramel, but my second attempt came out perfectly even though I didn't have any cream on hand (instead, i used a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and it worked beautifully) The caramels are extremely creamy and smooth-- i'll most likely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Well worth the time and effort, my family LOVED these caramels. The first time they came out way too hard, so I let them cool, melted them down and brought them back to the right temperature. I added pecans, and heating the mixture again didn't hurt the nuts. Remember to calibrate your thermometer in a pot of boiling water, I live at a really high altitude and my thermometer was off by 12 entire degrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Hmmm. At high altitude (5800 feet) the carmel was overdone at 242 degrees. Next time I am going to do the drop test sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Excellent recipe! This recipe has become one of my holiday favorites. It always gets rave reviews and requests for the recipe. I have been doubling the recipe (using a nice thick copper bottom pot) and adding several cups of toasted pecan pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I made this recipe and everyone loved it. I substituted splenda for the sugar and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramels

See how to make chewy, satiny-smooth caramel candies from scratch.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States