Caramelized Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I love this but I use chicken stock and brown sugar. It cooks way faster than these directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carieann18
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made these tonight! My kids thought they were potatoes! I told them they were turnips! My 3 yr old son was so excited!!! I added brown sugar and peach preserve to mine. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Outstanding! Made with beef broth and used double than what the recipe calls for so turnips could cook down longer and soften more. Even people who thought they didn't like turnips loved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Delicious with Thanksgiving Dinner this year. I diced the turnips and added carrots in the same size dice. I only sprinkled it with sugar--probably not even 1/2 t. Everyone loved the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
We love turnips...this is really a great idea!! Thank you...a little relish for our Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Loughman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Never ate a turnip in my life until I tried this recipe and I have never left a review until today. I followed the recipe exactly and found that I needed way more water than the recipe called for (just kept adding water as needed to keep the process moving) in order to make the turnips tender and I used brown sugar in lieu of the white. The turnips also took longer to cook than stated, but that could just have been me being cautious. With that said, my husband and I adored the result. Will definitely be making this again as an alternative to potatoes and I will probably branch out and add carrots as others have suggested for color and onions just because we love them. Thank you Lynn for a terrific recipe! My family and I are now turnips fans.... who knew! Can't wait to try them mashed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! Like so many others, I got turnips in my Bounty Box (local growers) and had no idea what to do with them. I only had really negative memories of boiled turnips from my childhood. I used beef broth, added onions and some fresh ginger. I also went a little scant on the sugar and used brown sugar instead of white. I took them to church for potluck in my electric skillet and they were GONE! I'll have to make them again for my husband...he didn't get any. I soaked the diced turnips for a little while in salt water (15-20 minutes) and made sure I peeled them before dicing them up. There was no bitter taste at all and some of my turnips were pretty large. Yummy! I encourage you to try them; I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fulton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GaryJYum
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Oh My Gosssshhhh! This recipe was so simple and extremely delicious. I took the turnips straight from my organic garden and into the kitchen. I made turnips for my wife and my two picky children. We all fought over the scraps. First time ever eating turnips for all of us, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
These were not to our liking. They needed more water not to burn and they were too sweet. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States