Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yum! I "hate" plain old pumpkin seeds but these are awesome. I didn't quite follow the directions...I melted the butter and brown sugar, added the spices and then the seeds and roasted them for about 20 mins. Then I spread them on aluminum foil (didn't have any parchment paper) and sprinkled them with white sugar. They are crunchy, caramelly goodness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Can't say I was ever a huge pumpkin seeds fan until I tried this recipe. Holy cow, they are so addictive. Definitely agree that brown sugar is the way to go. Good stuff! Thanks, Theresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Wow! My sons like roasted pumpkin seeds a little, my husband not at all. We never did this in my house growing up so I like to do it now. I love that it's sort of healthy. I've always just done the salted and seasoned kind...never any with sugar. These came out great. The flavor is very good. I got my sugar carmalizing in a little butter before adding the seeds, tossed them in the spices, threw it back in the warm oven for just a minute (to see if I could make them crunchier) and let the boys try them. I'm buying another pumpkin today so I can try to get the seeds a bit crunchier but the taste is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My kids (ages 3 & 5) and I LOVE this recipe! I too used brown sugar in the pan as others suggested and they came out awesome! I had to roast mine in the oven a bit longer than suggested and I ended up bumping up the temp to 400, next time I'll prob do 10-15 mins at 400 - just because its quicker. I will be keeping this recipe and making it for years to come I'm sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Four stars only because I use 2 T sugar in the spice mixture instead of 3--but these are SO ADDICTIVE! I brought a huge container to a Thanksgiving potluck this year, and they were completely gone by the time I left. Such a cool way to prepare pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Not my favorite. I think I had to have made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
DELICIOUS!! devoured almost instantly by the family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I HATE pumpkin seeds, and I used to think I meant that. I've been living by "waste not, want not" and I decided this year to toast and eat my seeds, despite my aversion to them. These were FABULOUS! I actually ended up adding 2 pinches - 1/4 tsp of the cayenne pepper, and upping the other spice amounts by a couple shakes, but they came out so delicious! I will never again throw out my pumpkin seeds! I only wish you could buy more raw ones in bulk! (minus the pumpkin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makes.cakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
thoroughly enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These are a yummy snack. (Made after Mrs Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie.) Sweet with a spicy kick after. Nice change from regular salted or garlic roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States