Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
These had a very good combination of flavors and came out pretty good, but think it could have used a little butter or moisture to hold the sugar/seasoning better. Will make them again with modifications suggested including brown sugar. Thoroughly enjoyed the sweetness compared to the usual salt flavor. Thanks for this rec!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I thought they were okay. Not as carmalized as I expected. I even through them back in the pan to get a more carmalized result and it did not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I found it hard to caramelize the pumpkin seeds which was frustrating as I don't think they quite turned out how they were supposed to. Also I would have added a touch more "heat" to my seeds if I were to try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
The taste was odd. I thought the ingredients sounded like a strange combination, but I decided to try it because of the *enthusiastic* positive reviews. If I ever tried this recipe again, I'd certainly delete the cumin, which added nothing good and made it smell weird - like cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
good flavor I just wish it was hotter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
loved this recipe! so much better than just baking them like normal! everybody gobbled them down and sad when they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
OK...I hate not giving it 5 stars...but I just can't. It's great, but too sweet for me. I used butter and brown sugar. I knew it was going to be sweet when I read the ingredients...but thought I would LOVE it like the others. It's more sweet than spicy. That's the best way to describe it. I would add more spice next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Used white sugar, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and nutmeg, and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a home run recipe! The only thing I would suggest based on the fact I only had 1/2 of a cup of Pumpkin seeds to start with, is to use this recipe for every 1/2 cup instead of 2 cups. I used the exact measurements from above but with only 1/2 cup of seeds and it was absolutely perfect! My boyfriend and I couldn't set them down! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us. We will for sure make them again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
So this is my first time ever making pumpkin seeds. Also my first time ever caramelizing anything. So I saw that a lot of you liked it better with brown sugar so I gave that a try but I guess brown sugar doesn't melt down as fast as white sugar does because I cooked it for almost ten minutes and it just wouldn't melt. So next time instead of putting the pumpkin seeds in with the brown sugar to melt I will cook down the sugar then put in the pumpkin seeds. Other than this they are awesome Just like candy but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States