Caramelized Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
loved this recipe! so much better than just baking them like normal! everybody gobbled them down and sad when they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
OK...I hate not giving it 5 stars...but I just can't. It's great, but too sweet for me. I used butter and brown sugar. I knew it was going to be sweet when I read the ingredients...but thought I would LOVE it like the others. It's more sweet than spicy. That's the best way to describe it. I would add more spice next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Used white sugar, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and nutmeg, and they were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a home run recipe! The only thing I would suggest based on the fact I only had 1/2 of a cup of Pumpkin seeds to start with, is to use this recipe for every 1/2 cup instead of 2 cups. I used the exact measurements from above but with only 1/2 cup of seeds and it was absolutely perfect! My boyfriend and I couldn't set them down! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us. We will for sure make them again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
So this is my first time ever making pumpkin seeds. Also my first time ever caramelizing anything. So I saw that a lot of you liked it better with brown sugar so I gave that a try but I guess brown sugar doesn't melt down as fast as white sugar does because I cooked it for almost ten minutes and it just wouldn't melt. So next time instead of putting the pumpkin seeds in with the brown sugar to melt I will cook down the sugar then put in the pumpkin seeds. Other than this they are awesome Just like candy but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffymb
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
So absolutely delicious! Used minimal sugar and replaced it with Trader Joe's maple syrup and a splash of vanilla extract. Also didn't use ground cinnamon and made sure to use chopped ginger root. The seeds burned a little while in the frying pan, but that turned out to be beneficial for stronger flavor. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffymb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Five stars! This is the best pumpkin seed recipe I have ever tried! It is very flavorful with the sugar and spices. I didn't change a thing and they turned out perfect. They were not around long before we devoured them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this three times this fall!! First I think my pumpkin seeds actually measured 2 1/2 cups, and I soaked them in heavy salt water 24 hours. Make sure you allow the seeds to DRY! I did change the baking time to about an hour as I like mine really toasted! Two of the times I changed the sugar to dark brown sugar (just the sugar you caramelize) Plus adding 2 tbls olive oil and 1 tbls butter to the pan. You have to stir this constantly and just when everything is coated get it into the other sugar. When I made this per directions it was just as good! I did what others said with the cayenne by making it a 1/4 tsp. I'm told to keep making it this way!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very good! We can't stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer McGroarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A reduced the sugar with 1 tbs. Can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States