Caramelized Red Bell Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
Not shabby at all... wouldn't recommend if you have any onion or pepper haters in your household, for obvious reasons. Also, store or dispose of leftovers quickly, the smell is quite strong the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
Disappointed with the overall flavour. I had to add A LOT more basil and salt and pepper just to take away the blandness. It definitely needs something else to give it some life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Everytime we have (any) steak, my husband requests nothing other than onions & mushrooms (either sauteed or grilled..whatever) and since he LOVES red bell peppers, I decided to give this a try. I made it per recipe, but threw in 4 semi-chopped, portabella mushrooms. Not only did it smell great (I mean the dog sat & starred at me with his tail wagging) while cooking, but tasted great as well! I sprinkled a little garlic powder just for the heck of it (I didn't add the raisins). Thanks Crow, for the tasty steak topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Wonderful! Easy! hits the spot -- served it over noodle nests - just great! Have made this several times. Change nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
absolutely loved this! i put it on top of steak and it was great! i don't know that i will make a steak without this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
It's hard to believe that this relatively simple recipe could be so good. Feel free to cut down on the oil and butter, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
ABSOLUTELY YUMMY! Didn't have red wine, so I used white and added a cup of halved mushrooms and a pinch of garlic; then spooned it over some baked chicken breasts. The husband loved it! Will definitely be making this again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hallsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This was good, a nice change from our ordinary vegetable side dishes - I added lots of garlic though, and a touch of balsamic vinegar. Mushrooms would have also made a nice addition. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This was surprisingly delicious. I was nervous about the raisins, but they absolutely made this dish - took it from ordinary to WOW. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I love this recipe! I had bought some mini red, orange and yellow bell peppers at the store and I was looking for a recipe on the allrecipe.com site and I found this one. I didn't have any red onions so I just used yellow ones. I wasn't sure how many peppers to cut up because they ranged in sized from a banana to a chili pepper. I also used more than a pinch of salt,pepper and basil. Then I added two pinches of fresh minced garlic. I baked some boneless pork chops in the oven with salt pepper and a tiny pinch of fresh minced garlic. Then I drizzled some extra virgin olive oil on top and when they were done I served them with the peppers on top. OH MY GOSH! As we ate this dish we couldn't imagine the peppers tasting better on anything else. Crow, you have a winner here with me. I wonder how some toasted pine nuts on top would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

All About Bell Peppers

Enjoy colorful sweet peppers cooked or raw.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States