Caramelized Red Bell Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Simply delicious! This is so easy to make and it always turns out good. I use a combination of red and green peppers, red and vidalia onion for color and flavor but no matter what you use or your preference you're bound to have a great outcome. I also use the optional wine - red or white whatever I have on hand and I never have any shortage of that! The herbs always give it a nice touch whether you use fresh or dried but just a bit so as to not overpower the veggies. This was perfect with grilled Italian sausage and crusty rolls for a quick and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This is wonderful!! I have made this dish at least 4 times since I got a new grill pan for Christmas. I can not believe the flavors. I have served this with Italian Sausage in sandwiches, and with grilled chicken and porkchops. Its a wonder there's any left, I pick onions out of the pan while they're cooking! I have used a little balsamic vinegar instead of wine, also a little chicken broth if I need a little more moisture. Experiment with your herbs - this is very adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Everytime we have (any) steak, my husband requests nothing other than onions & mushrooms (either sauteed or grilled..whatever) and since he LOVES red bell peppers, I decided to give this a try. I made it per recipe, but threw in 4 semi-chopped, portabella mushrooms. Not only did it smell great (I mean the dog sat & starred at me with his tail wagging) while cooking, but tasted great as well! I sprinkled a little garlic powder just for the heck of it (I didn't add the raisins). Thanks Crow, for the tasty steak topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
We have this often - Hubs is particularly fond of this side dish, particularly with a grilled steak, and it always adds such great color and interest to the dinner plate. I generally use a mix of colored bell peppers and minced garlic as well - I omitted the basil (because I forgot to use it) and didn't use the optional wine. This time I added half of a minced jalapeno pepper, basically to use it up - while it doesn't provide any heat (unless you were to include the seeds and membrane) it did add a nice punch of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I liked this recipe alot. The red wine gives it a nice little kick. I accidently bought a yellow onion but it still came out just as good. The whole house was fuming with the sweet scent of the bell peppers. I threw in yellow bell peppers as well for more color. I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I love this recipe! I had bought some mini red, orange and yellow bell peppers at the store and I was looking for a recipe on the allrecipe.com site and I found this one. I didn't have any red onions so I just used yellow ones. I wasn't sure how many peppers to cut up because they ranged in sized from a banana to a chili pepper. I also used more than a pinch of salt,pepper and basil. Then I added two pinches of fresh minced garlic. I baked some boneless pork chops in the oven with salt pepper and a tiny pinch of fresh minced garlic. Then I drizzled some extra virgin olive oil on top and when they were done I served them with the peppers on top. OH MY GOSH! As we ate this dish we couldn't imagine the peppers tasting better on anything else. Crow, you have a winner here with me. I wonder how some toasted pine nuts on top would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Instead of dried basil, I used 2 Tblsp fresh basil added just a few minutes before cooking was complete. Cooked only about 15 min after adding wine so peppers still had some body...would be too mushy if cooked for 30 min. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Very good, unique side dish recipe! I used orange, red and green peppers and white onion because in my mind, it was prettier to look at than the red peppers and red onions. I also added a splash of red wine vinegar and cooked longer to reduce liek the recipe suggests. Vinegar instead of wine gave it a kick that I really liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stressedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Absolutely lovely! Hubby loved it with some fresh foccacia bread. So easy and yummy. I used only oil, though, no butter and added some thyme as had no basil. I also added some balsamic vinegar instead of wine. Definetely one to make again and again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Wonderful! Easy! hits the spot -- served it over noodle nests - just great! Have made this several times. Change nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

All About Bell Peppers

Enjoy colorful sweet peppers cooked or raw.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States