Caramelized Red Bell Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is delicious and amazingly versatile. I opened my pantry and found I only had vegetable oil, no problem. I cut into my second red pepper and found mold and had to toss it, no problem. It turned out great even with both changes. One recommendation though: salt is necessary for a perfect ooey gooey caramelization of onions. I increased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and sprinkled it over the veggies as soon as they hit the pan, instead of reserving it for seasoning at the end. I think this was the right choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Delicious! I used a sweet onion instead of red and really enjoyed it. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very good. Added mushrooms and and a bit of merlot wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Since I had red, yellow and orange peppers to use up, I thought I'd try this recipe as a topping for chicken breasts. I really liked it. It's simple, healthy, and tasty. I substituted with basalmic vinegar instead of the wine - turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This dish is delicious! I did as other reviews suggested and added a splash of red wine vinegar along with the red wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Excellent recipe!!! I have received so many compliments from my guests, everyone goes for seconds... and more! The red wine does add a special touch that has everyone guessing what the secret ingredient is. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Wonderful! I put my cooking wine in only about 5 min b4 serving. My fire was up pretty high so it cooked in quickly! This dish was as good as the T-Bone steak we had it with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
These are wonderful served with grilled Italian sausages on hoagie rolls. I normally don't use the butter, just olive oil and I don't use the wine as hubby is a wine hater. I love using red, orange, or yellow bell peppers, and sweet yellow onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Very good, unique side dish recipe! I used orange, red and green peppers and white onion because in my mind, it was prettier to look at than the red peppers and red onions. I also added a splash of red wine vinegar and cooked longer to reduce liek the recipe suggests. Vinegar instead of wine gave it a kick that I really liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stressedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
My hubby made this last night to go on top of our steaks. He also added a small can of sliced mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

All About Bell Peppers

Enjoy colorful sweet peppers cooked or raw.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States