Caramelized Red Bell Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
We have this often - Hubs is particularly fond of this side dish, particularly with a grilled steak, and it always adds such great color and interest to the dinner plate. I generally use a mix of colored bell peppers and minced garlic as well - I omitted the basil (because I forgot to use it) and didn't use the optional wine. This time I added half of a minced jalapeno pepper, basically to use it up - while it doesn't provide any heat (unless you were to include the seeds and membrane) it did add a nice punch of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Added raisins and used white wine vinegar instead of red wine. Really great over chicken. Even went well with mexican chicken flauntas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was a nice way to use up the peppers and onion I had on hand, but I didn't think it was anything special. I wouldn't go out of my way to make it, but if I already had the ingredients on hand I might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Soooo Amazingly good and sooooo adaptable to your tastes/situation. Ive tried this almost every way the reviews have suggested and it always turns out good. I make this about 6 times a month. It works on just about everything. Hamburgers, hotdogs, pork, steak, sausage, I even used it in an omelete once. You will find it hard to use veggies in a way that ends up tasting better than this. A+++ in my book. Wish I could give it more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentMewes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My wife is not a big onion eater...she polished off the leftovers the next day...excellent side dish...what i liked best about it is the color it adds to a plate and eases of preperation. adding the wine is a definite must also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Really tasty, even without the wine. We liked this with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
When you have about 1/3 each red pepper and yellow pepper, and only half a large onion cuz the other half is going bad, and one link of mild italian sausage..what do you make? THIS STUFF!! It's really good! I cooked up my sausage first, set aside and drained all but 1 tsp-ish of fat. Did my onions, set aside, then did the bell peppers for just 2 minutes. Added all back to pan, seasoned with parsley from the garden and 3 dashes of red pepper flakes... ahhh... devine. Just ate as is...no bread, no rice, just sausage and peppers. Most excellent. (I read that someone tossed food cuz it had mold? Heck, I just cut off the mold, scrub up the veggie, and cook it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is delicious and amazingly versatile. I opened my pantry and found I only had vegetable oil, no problem. I cut into my second red pepper and found mold and had to toss it, no problem. It turned out great even with both changes. One recommendation though: salt is necessary for a perfect ooey gooey caramelization of onions. I increased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and sprinkled it over the veggies as soon as they hit the pan, instead of reserving it for seasoning at the end. I think this was the right choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Delicious! I used a sweet onion instead of red and really enjoyed it. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Very good. Added mushrooms and and a bit of merlot wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

All About Bell Peppers

Enjoy colorful sweet peppers cooked or raw.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States