Caramelized Pearl Onions with Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I tried these for Thanksgiving this year. I used the fresh pearl onions and blanched them to peel. Next time... frozen all the way! The family (who are adults, teens and historically not onion lovers) loved these and have asked me to make them every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Made 1/4 of this recipe to have as a side dish for leftover meatloaf for lunch. I think this recipe as is is quite pungent. The balsamic is overpowering but what do you expect from the recipe. I cannot imagine it as a full fledged side dish (like green beans) but it is a nice change of pace. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I was afraid the balsamic glaze would overpower the onions but that did not happen. In fact, the leftovers are even better the next day because the glaze mellowed out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
texture was not good- very mushy; had to throw it out and start over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lramirez2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Good but not as sweet as I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
We didn't care for it. But will give it one more shot with out the balsalmic eventually when we are feeling brave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe was great! I added asparagus because it was in a use it or lose it state and it was super yummy! The balsamic glaze is SOOOO easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I made this a little differently. After reading other recipes, I sliced up onions and put them in a skillet with the sauce ingredients. When caramelized, I did what they did in the recipe for "Green Beans with Caramelized Onions" and added frozen green beans, that were thawed. Just to make it even better, when serving, I tossed in some cooked bacon pieces. Fantastic !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
We loved these! Although I didn't use the glaze ...I made a glazed salmon dish ( Super Grilled Salmon from this site) & used the glaze from it on the onions. It was wonderful! Thansk for another tasty recipe Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Used fresh pearl onions for this -- at least I think that's what they were. Cheap at produce market, pain to peel for recipe, but all worth it. This recipe is so simple and delish. Made me feel like a pro. Got great reviews. Reminded me of "Drunken Shallots" I had had at a favorite local Italian restaurant (although, I think those used a red wine reduction). Planning on making the full recipe from frozen onions for a camping trip this weekend. Such an easy snack to put out with some white bean spread (also easy and both not bad nutrition-wise). Highly recommend this recipe. Be patient with the reduction. It's worth it to let it get thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States