Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I did not care for the molasses flavor at all! I've made caramelized onions before where the recipe called for a small amount of granulated white sugar and I'll go back to that. The white sugar added as the onions begin to saute helps them get brown and caramelized without adding that molasses flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Not bad. I am going to make it a second time and try it Chebelle's way. Just add white sugar to the pan as they start to brown and that will carmelize. I will let you know which way I like better. A little bit too molasses"y". But, still good. UPDATE: I made them the other way that was suggested by a reviewer-Chebelle-I like her way much better. But, you could probably use less molasses if you want and add some white sugar as they are carmelizing. They should be just as good. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
These were awesome. I was slightly worried about the reviews talking about them being too molasses-y, but I went for it and followed the recipe as is. So glad I did because these onions were fantastic. Put them on homemade chipotle burgers on fresh onion buns with monterey jack cheese, roasted red peppers (also sauteed in the bacon fat), mayo, lettuce, and tomato. Seriously best homemade burger EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
THESE WERE ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. I DID CUT DOWN ON THE MOLASSES - ONLY USED 1 T. BECAUSE I THOUGHT 2 MIGHT BE A LITTLE TOO MUCH. THEY WERE PERFECT!!!!! GOOD TO EAT ALONE OR WITH STEAK, HOT DOG OR HAMBURGER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I don't eat meat other than fish so I didn't add the bacon. I wasn't too fond of the strong molasses taste but once I added some sugar, it was great on top of salmon! :) I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaChamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
As I sat next to the grill listening to the onions sizzle my mouth just watered. It was great! I also added red and green peppers, and zucchini (spelling?) It was great will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I skipped the bacon, because I made this as the filling for a savory tartlet. It was still Totally Awsome! Yum! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A. M. Spharler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Nice recipe and very easy. Made mine to go with BBQ'd hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Easy and Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I used dark molasses (all I had) & I think it imparted too much molasses flavor. I think next time I'll just add a smidgeon of molasses so that it doesn't overwhelm the natural sweetness of the caramelized onions. I served this on top of Basil Pork Chops (from all recipes)...great combo! Thanks for the recipe, Joann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States