Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My boyfriend and I loved these!! I didn't have molasses so I just substituted honey. Also, I used a white onion instead of a sweet one. And real bacon bits from a jar to make it quicker, I browned the onion in a little olive oil. I am going to put them on top of a pork chop or steak next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I LOVED this recipe!! I took some other reviewer's advice and added sugar instead of molasses and it turned out AWESOME! I not-so-jokingly told my husband that I could have ate this all on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
These were awesome. I was slightly worried about the reviews talking about them being too molasses-y, but I went for it and followed the recipe as is. So glad I did because these onions were fantastic. Put them on homemade chipotle burgers on fresh onion buns with monterey jack cheese, roasted red peppers (also sauteed in the bacon fat), mayo, lettuce, and tomato. Seriously best homemade burger EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Perfect on burgers. I only used 1 tablespoon of Molasses though and sprinkled a little sugar on the onions while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlene Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
i prefer using sugar instead of molasses. everything else worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
loved it. If you are an onion person then you will definitely enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
As I sat next to the grill listening to the onions sizzle my mouth just watered. It was great! I also added red and green peppers, and zucchini (spelling?) It was great will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Blomberg
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
THESE WERE ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. I DID CUT DOWN ON THE MOLASSES - ONLY USED 1 T. BECAUSE I THOUGHT 2 MIGHT BE A LITTLE TOO MUCH. THEY WERE PERFECT!!!!! GOOD TO EAT ALONE OR WITH STEAK, HOT DOG OR HAMBURGER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Garrison
Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was the best caramelized Onions I ever tried! I used them for my burgers and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmyra, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I skipped the bacon, because I made this as the filling for a savory tartlet. It was still Totally Awsome! Yum! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A. M. Spharler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States