Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Easy and Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I don't eat meat other than fish so I didn't add the bacon. I wasn't too fond of the strong molasses taste but once I added some sugar, it was great on top of salmon! :) I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaChamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Nice recipe and very easy. Made mine to go with BBQ'd hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I thought that it was going to be difficult to make caramelized onions, that is until I found this recipe. It was easy and the onions were good. I used them in the paninis I made. Thank you for the recipe. Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dagsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
G R E A T!! I will make thses again over & over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
What a delicious dish. Loved the bacon on top and molasses too. Served on top of grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Delicious! I did not add the bacon but kept everything else as written. I used dark molasses and drizzled over the onions. Made with steaks. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I used dark molasses (all I had) & I think it imparted too much molasses flavor. I think next time I'll just add a smidgeon of molasses so that it doesn't overwhelm the natural sweetness of the caramelized onions. I served this on top of Basil Pork Chops (from all recipes)...great combo! Thanks for the recipe, Joann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I did not care for the molasses flavor at all! I've made caramelized onions before where the recipe called for a small amount of granulated white sugar and I'll go back to that. The white sugar added as the onions begin to saute helps them get brown and caramelized without adding that molasses flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Not bad. I am going to make it a second time and try it Chebelle's way. Just add white sugar to the pan as they start to brown and that will carmelize. I will let you know which way I like better. A little bit too molasses"y". But, still good. UPDATE: I made them the other way that was suggested by a reviewer-Chebelle-I like her way much better. But, you could probably use less molasses if you want and add some white sugar as they are carmelizing. They should be just as good. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States