Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I did not care for the molasses flavor at all! I've made caramelized onions before where the recipe called for a small amount of granulated white sugar and I'll go back to that. The white sugar added as the onions begin to saute helps them get brown and caramelized without adding that molasses flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I used dark molasses (all I had) & I think it imparted too much molasses flavor. I think next time I'll just add a smidgeon of molasses so that it doesn't overwhelm the natural sweetness of the caramelized onions. I served this on top of Basil Pork Chops (from all recipes)...great combo! Thanks for the recipe, Joann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Delicious! I did not add the bacon but kept everything else as written. I used dark molasses and drizzled over the onions. Made with steaks. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
What a delicious dish. Loved the bacon on top and molasses too. Served on top of grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
G R E A T!! I will make thses again over & over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I thought that it was going to be difficult to make caramelized onions, that is until I found this recipe. It was easy and the onions were good. I used them in the paninis I made. Thank you for the recipe. Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dagsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Nice recipe and very easy. Made mine to go with BBQ'd hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I don't eat meat other than fish so I didn't add the bacon. I wasn't too fond of the strong molasses taste but once I added some sugar, it was great on top of salmon! :) I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaChamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Easy and Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States