Caramelized Onions on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Can't say enough...YUM! We used them on top of grilled burgers along with bacon, mayo with melted jarlsberg cheese. Made for the best burger (my mouth is watering just thinking about it)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I submitted this recipe and wanted to change something but couldn't so... You don't have to use softened butter. You can use it right from the fridge and it is actually easier to cut from a cold stick of butter than when it's soft. And garlic powder works great too since the boullion is salty. We love ours a really dark color - almost burnt. Sometimes they take an hour and sometimes I leave them on for an hour and 15 minutes. It really depends on the grill. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This recipe rocks! Best with large onion. My boyfriend loved it and wants it now instead of baked potatoes! I made this on the "Big Green Egg" (outdoor grill) and it smelled wonderful! This one is a keeper! (I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azorean Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
FANTASTIC! These were surprisingly sweet and delicious. I halved the onions and baked them for 45 minutes at 400. Next time I will quarter the onions to make serving easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
The only problem I had with this recipe is that I should've made more!!! I used two large Vidalia onions for a group of 6 people. I should've made 1 onion per person. I left out the beef bouillion cube (because I didn't have any) and instead sprinkled a generous amount of seasoning salt and garlic powder. Other than that I cooked just as the recipe says on the BBQ. One thing I will do differently next time is I won't cut up the onions as small as I did because when they cook they shrink down dramatically. Other than that they were absolutely delicious and all of my guests loved them...even the picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I made these with very large red onions and vidalia onions. Instead of the butter is sprayed the onions with some pam and sprinkled Mrs. Dash and some salt on top of them. Make sure to oil the grill grate before placing the onions on - to prevent the onions from sticking to the grate and falling apart. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
SO easy and SO delicious! This is true comfort food. Next time I make them I'll add a slice of swiss cheese to melt at the end and serve it in a bowl on top of a slice of texas toast garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My FIL gave me a little different recipe for onions on the grill. He gets a big sweet onion and slices it almost all the way through (think Bloomin Onion from the Outback). Stick slices of butter (1/2 stick) into the cut onion, add salt and pepper. Top with shredded parmesean cheese and before you wrap it up in foil, add 2 icecubes. Cook on the grill for at least 45 minutes. It is so good - my wholed family loves it and they can be picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Caramelized is definitely a misnomer in this recipe. Mine came out mushy and with a steamed quality. I think that bouillon granules have a very artificial almost chemical taste so I subbed Penzey's beef soup base, which has a fresher, less salty flavor. Although grilling onions directly or slowly caramelizing them in a skillet is a lot more work, I think it is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States