Caramelized Onions on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I made these in the oven - placed Vidalia Onions in foil pouch and set them on a cookie sheet with edges - Just in case it leaked. Cooked at 400 for 1 hour. I sprinkled with garlic pepper.These were so yummy !!! Next time we grill steaks I will make these onions and put them over my steak. I know it seems like alot of butter but it prevents it from sticking and burning. Yumm Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I actually made mine in the slow cooker and they turned out WONDERFUL! I had a bunch left over so I added them to mayonnaise and make a great burger/sandwich spread. Very very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Great with grilled steak! I leave my onion bascially intact just cutting an "X" into it and peeling it back slightly. I used minced garlic instead of garlic salt because of the saltiness of the beef bouillon. Be sure to poke holes in the foil to allow the steam to escape or you'll have a soupy mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I have a friend who makes this but she leaves the onion whole and slices an x into. After she's done she adds mozzarella cheese to it. Now it's grilled onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Caramelized is definitely a misnomer in this recipe. Mine came out mushy and with a steamed quality. I think that bouillon granules have a very artificial almost chemical taste so I subbed Penzey's beef soup base, which has a fresher, less salty flavor. Although grilling onions directly or slowly caramelizing them in a skillet is a lot more work, I think it is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I submitted this recipe and wanted to change something but couldn't so... You don't have to use softened butter. You can use it right from the fridge and it is actually easier to cut from a cold stick of butter than when it's soft. And garlic powder works great too since the boullion is salty. We love ours a really dark color - almost burnt. Sometimes they take an hour and sometimes I leave them on for an hour and 15 minutes. It really depends on the grill. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dahl House

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Really good. I cooked mine in the oven for 45 minutes at 400 degrees, in the foil on a cookie sheet. Next time I will reduce the butter because there was a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Excellent burger topping!! Here are the things I did differently . . . 1. DIDN'T GRILL THEM! I didn't have the 40 minutes so I cooked them in a pan on the stove top. 2. Heated some oil in a pan on medium heat (not too much though - maybe about 1 tbsp?). 3. Added 1 cup of chopped onion. Don't really remember how long I cooked them for exactly. Maybe 10 minutes or until slightly soft. 4. Added in 1 tbsp butter and 1/2 tsp of beef bouillon granules (which was about 1/2 a cube for me). 5. Sprinkled with garlic POWDER and pepper. The bouillon is already pretty salty so just start there and add salt to taste. 6. Turned to low-medium and cooked/stirred until ready to use (probably less than 25 minutes)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I did these in the overn for 40 minutes @ 400F. Will also cut down on the butter next time. These were awesome. Had with Chili and garlic bread. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Just delicious! I didn't have any beef bouillon so left it out. I started these in the oven and finished on the grill. Cooked for an hour and they turned out perfectly! Were great with our steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States