Caramelized Onions on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Made just as directed. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHERI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Excellent burger topping!! Here are the things I did differently . . . 1. DIDN'T GRILL THEM! I didn't have the 40 minutes so I cooked them in a pan on the stove top. 2. Heated some oil in a pan on medium heat (not too much though - maybe about 1 tbsp?). 3. Added 1 cup of chopped onion. Don't really remember how long I cooked them for exactly. Maybe 10 minutes or until slightly soft. 4. Added in 1 tbsp butter and 1/2 tsp of beef bouillon granules (which was about 1/2 a cube for me). 5. Sprinkled with garlic POWDER and pepper. The bouillon is already pretty salty so just start there and add salt to taste. 6. Turned to low-medium and cooked/stirred until ready to use (probably less than 25 minutes)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Me and husband totally loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Great with grilled steak! I leave my onion bascially intact just cutting an "X" into it and peeling it back slightly. I used minced garlic instead of garlic salt because of the saltiness of the beef bouillon. Be sure to poke holes in the foil to allow the steam to escape or you'll have a soupy mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
OMG these were awesome! Super sweet and they melted in your mouth. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Delicious! I put them on pork chops and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
WOW! These were fantastic!! I started these on the grill, but the gas ran out so finished them in the oven. They were so flavorful! Made exactly as directed. Smelled like french onion soup when I opened the foil. My family devoured these alongside their steaks. Thanks for this GREAT recipe! I will cook these everytime we make steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Packet was on fire after 20 minutes. We're pretty handy with the grill, so I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
These onions were good, but a bit salty, of course that has more to do with the bouillon I used than the recipe. I cooked the onions on a small baking sheet, covered in foil, over the grill. They caramelized perfectly! I think the pictures accompanying this recipe are very misleading because these onions don't turn out at all like the pics if made correctly (they come out better!). I will definitely make these again but I'd like to cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Turtle in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Tried this for the first time on camping trip. I cooked them as directed in the oven since my husband had not set up barbeque yet. Absolutely delicious.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States