Caramelized Onions on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
While they were delicious once finished, they took forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Yummy! That is the only word needed when describing these! Used these on top of my pork chops but honestly could have eaten these all by themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is a simple method for caramelized onions. I don’t think the beef granules added much, so I will probably ignore adding that next time; and I sliced the onion in thin slices so it would cook up quicker. The onions turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Very flavorful. Definitely needs 45 min or more on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Lordy! These are goooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckythebarber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Mine turned out really soggy and I have no idea where the "caramelized" description comes from. The flavor however was really good, and SO perfect on top of a nice juicy steak. So next time I will try using less butter, a little brown sugar or corn syrup to get the caramelization, and make sure to watch the time..... I have tried recipes like this before and never had luck because they would never get tender enough so I couldn't believe I could overcook an onion on the very top part of the grill for only an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I am in love with these. They turned out great in the oven when I made them. Take about an hour though. Great with steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
An easier way to the same result is to put unpeeled smallish yellow onions directly on the grill. Turn occasionally to keep from burning. When soft, remove from grill, squeeze them out of their skins, add seasoning of choice and serve. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntingburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious! I did use olive oil instead of butter, and garlic powder instead of garlic salt. What a great flavor with the beef bouillion. Grilled and served with grilled London broil. Used vidalia onions and cut the nice and thick to withstand the grill. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Just delicious! I didn't have any beef bouillon so left it out. I started these in the oven and finished on the grill. Cooked for an hour and they turned out perfectly! Were great with our steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States