Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I thought this was really delicious. When I went to make it I found I had only 1 rather elderly potato. So I made instant mashed and added the seasonings. It was great and my guest had no idea I hadn't made it from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was so decadent. The kids didn't like them but my husband and I fought over the leftovers. Only change I made was adding a couple cloves of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Fantastic recipe! I added a couple of cloves of fresh roasted garlic, but add garlic to almost everything. I also added in a couple of dashes of white pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! The only change I made was to substitute the white wine vinegar to half white cooking wine, half cider vinegar, because I didn't have white wine vinegar on hand. For the small amt. required, I doubt it would have made much difference. But the flavor! I had 3 helpings, my boyfriend loved it as well. I know I'll be making this again & again. Thanks for the recipe! ADD-ON So, I made this again, and it was even better this time. I boiled the potatoes with minced garlic, used skim milk instead of half & half, and this time I sauteed chopped cabbage (about 2-3 cups) in bacon grease 'til tender, and added along with the onions. It was very simaler to Irish colcannon and tasted great with the corned beef I prepared. Everyone who loves horseradish and potatoes should try this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
What a great potato to have on the side of BBQ ribs or prime rib! Thanks for the recipe!**Had to update and change to 5 stars. I make this every time I have bratwurst or ribs. Instead of half and half I use sour cream. I also like to use plenty minced garlic:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMary
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wow! This was fantastic. None of the flavors are overwhelming and they blend well. I added some minced garlic (1-2 tsp) to the onions in the last 5-10min of cooking. Otherwise I followed as written. Very flavorful. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is the BEST!!! Smashed Potatoes with character! Very nicely flavored! Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for a great recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My wife wont stop talking about how good these potatoes were! Making them again this weekend! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Simply amazing. I would recommend chopping the onions a little smaller otherwise they are too stringy in the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! You made me the hit of my Christmas Eve dinner. I served this with the Garlic Prime Rib. Everyone raved about the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States