Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We loved these potatoes! Beautiful rich color from the caramelized onions and deeply flavored. Definitely worth the extra effort and time it took to caramelize the onions. Just enough horseradish and Dijon to make these interestingly different, although I wouldn't hesitate to add more horseradish. I found I didn't need the extra butter at the end - the butter used to caramelize the onions was enough. It was nice to find a different and delicious spin on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Not very good at all!!! Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
very yummy. i scaled back to 6 servings, and even opted to use 2 sweet vidalia onions over the 3 they suggested. it was plenty!!! also diced for ease of mixing and eating. omitted thyme since i didnt have it. served with flat iron steak w/ blue cheese chive butter (also from site) the first night, and leftovers with a pork tenderlion and mushrooms w/ soy sauce glaze (again from this site lol) everybody raved about these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Awesome! Served with the Garlic Prime Rib, managed to burn my onions, so those were omitted, but even without them it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! You made me the hit of my Christmas Eve dinner. I served this with the Garlic Prime Rib. Everyone raved about the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great side dish for pork. Did not use vinegar in it, and set the horseradish on the table so everyone could add accordingly. No more boring mashed potatoes at my house-thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was ok.. I did find that the vinegar was a bit overpowering so I would definitely cut back on that. I chopped the onions and used fat free 1/2 and 1/2. Would try again with some changes to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I love horseradish so this was up my alley! I ended up doubling the amount of horseradish I put into the potatoes becasue I like them spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Simply amazing. I would recommend chopping the onions a little smaller otherwise they are too stringy in the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Pretty good. I made these for Easter lunch and they went over well. We thought they were actually a little better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States