Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
made these for christmas dinner and it was very good! used yukon gold potatoes and turned out fine. i was concerned with horseradish overpowering the taste, so i only put in 1 tbs, but will increase next time. very well received at dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe! I made exactly as written, the flavors are outstanding. I served this with filet of beef, perfect combination. A familiar side, but the bold, hearty flavors make this a nice updated companion to beef. A keeper and a definite do-over. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe. The caramelized onions take a little longer to cook than listed and I like a lot more horseradish for extra zing! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Gave mashed potatoes the wow factor. Lots of flavor. Didn't have white wine vinegar so used red wine vinegar and it still turned out great. Husband had a second heaping helping. Caramelizing the onions took longer than planned; next time I'll do those ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I liked it very much, but I made the mistake of preparing it beforehand and then heating it up in the evening and I found I didn't like it at all, Far too sweet. I will try it again, because I did like it when I was making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
wonderful! Would suggest cutting up the onions into bite size bits before adding to the potatoes, as they were quite stringy and LONG in with each bite of what was, essentially, mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
interesting, nice change... not worth the extra fuss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These were nice potatoes, and an inspiration for a change in my own menu. I used to enjoy eating Hot German Potato Salad (the kind with bacon and vinegar), but these days, I'm skipping bacon quite a bit, and smoked turkey didn't sound right, so I thought I'd be skipping anything even remotely like that more common dish. Well, when I added the vinegar and thyme to the caramelized onions, and then looked at the mustard sitting on my counter, I began to think that this might turn into a great substitute. I don't quite have it all down right yet, but I'm getting close. With extra vinegar, a little less mashing, and an added dose of mustard, some garlic added to the onions just before adding the vinegar, and possibly a good bit more horseradish (depending on who will be at table on a given evening), this should be a close second, if not a better replacement. I already enjoy this recipe, though I used soy milk instead of the cream, and oil instead of the butter, which sounded questionable to me. Given time, I think this will be one of my very favorite ways to make mashed potatoes! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These were very good. I cried the whole time (sooo many onions :), but I thought it was worth it. This makes a huge batch, so if it's just 2-4 of you then I would scale it back because we had a lot leftover. The horseradish gives it a very unique (in a good way) flavor and overally I really liked this kind of mashed potato. These were also very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States