Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed these potatoes, but my family didn’t enjoy them as much as I did. I loved the addition of the golden onions and horseradish; I thought it added a lot of flavor to the mashed potatoes. I served these with ‘Slow Cooker Roast Beef’ from AR, and it made for a very nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
AWESOME! Made as written and would not change a thing...A definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
OFF.THE.HOOK. Loved 'em! Hesitant about so much horseradish so I didn't use as much, that was a mistake. Used a small can of evaporated milk in place of the cream. The only thing that would make them better is to have seconds. I did. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
made these for christmas dinner and it was very good! used yukon gold potatoes and turned out fine. i was concerned with horseradish overpowering the taste, so i only put in 1 tbs, but will increase next time. very well received at dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe! I made exactly as written, the flavors are outstanding. I served this with filet of beef, perfect combination. A familiar side, but the bold, hearty flavors make this a nice updated companion to beef. A keeper and a definite do-over. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe. The caramelized onions take a little longer to cook than listed and I like a lot more horseradish for extra zing! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Gave mashed potatoes the wow factor. Lots of flavor. Didn't have white wine vinegar so used red wine vinegar and it still turned out great. Husband had a second heaping helping. Caramelizing the onions took longer than planned; next time I'll do those ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I liked it very much, but I made the mistake of preparing it beforehand and then heating it up in the evening and I found I didn't like it at all, Far too sweet. I will try it again, because I did like it when I was making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
wonderful! Would suggest cutting up the onions into bite size bits before adding to the potatoes, as they were quite stringy and LONG in with each bite of what was, essentially, mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
interesting, nice change... not worth the extra fuss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States