Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
A few ingredients can really change plain old mashed potatoes into something very different and delicious! I used half of the onions, and it was plenty. I would always add something like horseradish and mustard gradually, because it could be too much for your own tastes. This went well with the Easter ham dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Great dish! I only used 2/3 of the onions which was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
These mashed potatoes were really good. Definitely worth the time and effort to make them! This had just the right amount of spice to make this more interesting than ordinary mashed potatoes. Before I made this I was afraid that the mustard and the horseradish would be too much for my six year old and two year old to eat, but they ate it right up. I made this along side baked chicken and steamed broccoli, but these potatoes would be versatile enough to go with almost anything. Can't wait to make these again! Thank you for the recipe, brightlightz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe! I made it for Easter dinner and it was a big hit! We do like things spicy, so tonight when I make them again I will probably double the horseradish and Dijon mustard. Thank you for making me look so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was very tasty, but required more milk, because I didn't have the half 'n half and added more butter to make up for the fat content. It took quite a bit of liquid, before they were smooth and fluffy. Unfortunately, I didn't measure, just kept adding, because with the amount the recipe called for, it was dry and lumpy. Maybe my potatoes were too large to start with, but what is a large baking potato? If the recipe had stated 6 pounds of baking potatoes, then it would have been more helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Just tried this recipe, absolutely delicious. Instead of the butter and half and half I substituted Krafts Garlic and Herb cooking cream. Next time I think I will add a bit more horseradish and maybe some garlic. I used this as a side dish with slow cooker beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Great! I added 3 tsps of sugar to onions for better caramelizing. I also think that it helped to balance acidity from vinegar. I used balsamic vinegar instead of white wine, 1 tbsp of dijon and 1 tbsp of sweet mustard from the seeds. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe but did not have cream so I used full fat sour creme and I also substituted balsamic vinegar for white and used fresh thyme. It was a hit with my family and will make it again. Beats boring mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was really lackluster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
The best mashed potatoes .!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States