Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I LOVE the zing that horseradish adds to mashed potatoes! My onions always take longer to caramelize (an hour or more, usually), and I don't generally bother with the vinegar, thyme, or mustard. Sometimes I'll even omit the onions -- that's how much I love the kick of the horseradish! Butter and milk/cream to taste to finish. This is an excellent, tweakable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were a nice change from my regular garlic mashed potatoes. I still prefer the garlic but will make these occasionally. They're excellent fried up the next day & smothered with cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I used red skin potatoes and nearly double the horseradish. The flavor was still quite subtle but very good. We will definitely make these again. I left the onion rings whole and would do so again but without the largest ones. It's a little weird to pull out a forkful of potatoes and have a long string of onion pull out of the "mash" and dangle to your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is one of my new favorite recipes! Only change was to add more butter, I probably will add a bit more cream next time we make it. Also I agree with the other reviewers that you should chop the onions rather than leave them in rings; that's what we did and it was nice and easy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Wonderful, wonderful wonderful potatoes. Made these for a dinner party to serve under Beef Burgundy. Simple, easy, tasty, full flavored. I did use Yukon Gold potatoes instead of russets, because that's what I had on hand this time around. Will most definitely make these again. It goes great with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
These spuds were amazing! I can't wait to make them for company. What a wonderful combination of flavors. Yum, yum, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Loved these potatoes! Didn't have the thyme or the vinegar but these were really yummy! The only problem was that the kids didn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great change to regular mashed potatoes! I followed the recipe except I didn't use the thyme(don't like it) or the vinegar (didn't have it). I do try to follow the directions exactly the first time but they were wonderful this way. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gretcheepoo
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These are definitely worth the calories! They were creamy and delicious. I served them with pork chops and then with a Dijon-shallot chicken cutlet. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretcheepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States