Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Gave mashed potatoes the wow factor. Lots of flavor. Didn't have white wine vinegar so used red wine vinegar and it still turned out great. Husband had a second heaping helping. Caramelizing the onions took longer than planned; next time I'll do those ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I liked it very much, but I made the mistake of preparing it beforehand and then heating it up in the evening and I found I didn't like it at all, Far too sweet. I will try it again, because I did like it when I was making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
wonderful! Would suggest cutting up the onions into bite size bits before adding to the potatoes, as they were quite stringy and LONG in with each bite of what was, essentially, mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
interesting, nice change... not worth the extra fuss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These were nice potatoes, and an inspiration for a change in my own menu. I used to enjoy eating Hot German Potato Salad (the kind with bacon and vinegar), but these days, I'm skipping bacon quite a bit, and smoked turkey didn't sound right, so I thought I'd be skipping anything even remotely like that more common dish. Well, when I added the vinegar and thyme to the caramelized onions, and then looked at the mustard sitting on my counter, I began to think that this might turn into a great substitute. I don't quite have it all down right yet, but I'm getting close. With extra vinegar, a little less mashing, and an added dose of mustard, some garlic added to the onions just before adding the vinegar, and possibly a good bit more horseradish (depending on who will be at table on a given evening), this should be a close second, if not a better replacement. I already enjoy this recipe, though I used soy milk instead of the cream, and oil instead of the butter, which sounded questionable to me. Given time, I think this will be one of my very favorite ways to make mashed potatoes! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These were very good. I cried the whole time (sooo many onions :), but I thought it was worth it. This makes a huge batch, so if it's just 2-4 of you then I would scale it back because we had a lot leftover. The horseradish gives it a very unique (in a good way) flavor and overally I really liked this kind of mashed potato. These were also very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I LOVE the zing that horseradish adds to mashed potatoes! My onions always take longer to caramelize (an hour or more, usually), and I don't generally bother with the vinegar, thyme, or mustard. Sometimes I'll even omit the onions -- that's how much I love the kick of the horseradish! Butter and milk/cream to taste to finish. This is an excellent, tweakable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were a nice change from my regular garlic mashed potatoes. I still prefer the garlic but will make these occasionally. They're excellent fried up the next day & smothered with cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I used red skin potatoes and nearly double the horseradish. The flavor was still quite subtle but very good. We will definitely make these again. I left the onion rings whole and would do so again but without the largest ones. It's a little weird to pull out a forkful of potatoes and have a long string of onion pull out of the "mash" and dangle to your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States