Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've been using this site for nearly every recipe that I've made for years and I've never left a review, but this was awesome! I made a few changes due to what I had on hand. The only local-grown produce at the farmers' market right now are sweet potatoes and turnips. I've never cooked, or even tried, turnips so I grabbed a couple. I found recipes that boiled them with potatoes and mashed them together, but when it came time to prepare the meal, I was looking for that recipe and this one definitely caught my eye! I love onions with everything! I don't like horseradish or dijon mustard, so I left those out. I don't have white wine vinegar, so i halved some cooking sherry with rice vinegar. I also love sour cream with my mashed potatoes, so I halved that with 2% milk in place of the half & half. I didn't add any butter at the end because I had only sauteed one onion (adding a couple cloves of garlic near the end) with the 3T of butter, so there was plenty when I mixed everything together! The potato to turnip ratio that I used was 2:1, so it was a smaller batch than what this recipe makes. I will definitely make this again, but with more onions next time! Thanks so much for sharing this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XiolaJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I will def make this again! I added a little handful of crumbled gorganzola to it just because I love cheese in anything! But I did taste it without and they were very good eaither way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Sanbornton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Seriously delicious. I used apple cider vinegar in place of white wine vinegar, parsley in place of thyme, and sour cream in place of half and half. That's what I had on hand, but in the future, I'll probably make it according to the recipe just to see the difference. I agree with other reviews that the onions could be cut a little smaller. They were a little stringy, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I didn't love these flavors. I was really confused too, to the onion in the recipe. Is it 4 slices of onions or 4 onions? I assumed it was slices, however mine were fully cooked in like 6-7 minutes so now I don't know. I followed the recipe exactly except I made 1/2 recipe and used milk instead of cream. They taste just like they state as caramelized onion and horseradish. I thought I would really like the combination, but thought the flavor was just okay. It was a bit strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed these potatoes, but my family didn’t enjoy them as much as I did. I loved the addition of the golden onions and horseradish; I thought it added a lot of flavor to the mashed potatoes. I served these with ‘Slow Cooker Roast Beef’ from AR, and it made for a very nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
AWESOME! Made as written and would not change a thing...A definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
OFF.THE.HOOK. Loved 'em! Hesitant about so much horseradish so I didn't use as much, that was a mistake. Used a small can of evaporated milk in place of the cream. The only thing that would make them better is to have seconds. I did. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
made these for christmas dinner and it was very good! used yukon gold potatoes and turned out fine. i was concerned with horseradish overpowering the taste, so i only put in 1 tbs, but will increase next time. very well received at dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe! I made exactly as written, the flavors are outstanding. I served this with filet of beef, perfect combination. A familiar side, but the bold, hearty flavors make this a nice updated companion to beef. A keeper and a definite do-over. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe. The caramelized onions take a little longer to cook than listed and I like a lot more horseradish for extra zing! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States