Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
These mashed potatoes were really good. Definitely worth the time and effort to make them! This had just the right amount of spice to make this more interesting than ordinary mashed potatoes. Before I made this I was afraid that the mustard and the horseradish would be too much for my six year old and two year old to eat, but they ate it right up. I made this along side baked chicken and steamed broccoli, but these potatoes would be versatile enough to go with almost anything. Can't wait to make these again! Thank you for the recipe, brightlightz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe! I made it for Easter dinner and it was a big hit! We do like things spicy, so tonight when I make them again I will probably double the horseradish and Dijon mustard. Thank you for making me look so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was very tasty, but required more milk, because I didn't have the half 'n half and added more butter to make up for the fat content. It took quite a bit of liquid, before they were smooth and fluffy. Unfortunately, I didn't measure, just kept adding, because with the amount the recipe called for, it was dry and lumpy. Maybe my potatoes were too large to start with, but what is a large baking potato? If the recipe had stated 6 pounds of baking potatoes, then it would have been more helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Just tried this recipe, absolutely delicious. Instead of the butter and half and half I substituted Krafts Garlic and Herb cooking cream. Next time I think I will add a bit more horseradish and maybe some garlic. I used this as a side dish with slow cooker beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Great! I added 3 tsps of sugar to onions for better caramelizing. I also think that it helped to balance acidity from vinegar. I used balsamic vinegar instead of white wine, 1 tbsp of dijon and 1 tbsp of sweet mustard from the seeds. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe but did not have cream so I used full fat sour creme and I also substituted balsamic vinegar for white and used fresh thyme. It was a hit with my family and will make it again. Beats boring mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was really lackluster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
The best mashed potatoes .!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I loved these mashed potato's, I have no regrets made as directed, except, I chopped the onions smaller to carmelize, so no stringy situation, as some have reported, you got it right with the horseradish and above all, the best, will make these with beef at least 2 times a week, will be a regular rotation in our meals, thanx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
These are really good. A little heavy on the horseradish which is why I gave it 4 stars, but love the addition of the caramelized onions! That is genius! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States