Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This was a hit at a birthday party I threw for a couple of friends. I had never had Gorgonzola cheese but found that I love it! It's a milder type of blue cheese and it went very well with the caramelized onions. It does take a while to caramelize the onions so make sure you start it in plenty of time to pop in the oven when your guests arrive. Also, I made a homemade pizza crust because it's easy and so much better than the refrigerated type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I have a variation of this recipe that is MUCH better. You use a Boboli crust and feta cheese instead of the gorgonzola. you also sprinkle fresh tyme on the top. I added sauteed mushrooms on my own. I use it as an appetizer and people can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe is so delicious. It can be a meal or as an appetiser. I use a thin Boboli crust. It is easier and so good. I make it with a garlic and vidalia onion jelly and then cheese. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACALK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Wow, that's some tasty pizza. I'd go a bit lighter on the cheese - it overpowered the onions a little - but otherwise it was excellent! This was enough for two 12" pizzas, one batch of pizza dough in the bread maker. Next time I might try adding some thinly sliced pears just for kicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This receipe is awesome! I love the contrast between the flavorful gorgonzola, and sweet carmelized onions! Every time I make it, people rave like you wouldn't believe! No offense to the person who mentioned that they would use a Boboli crust, but yuck! And feta cheese, while delicious, would not be good with carmelized onions, at least in my opinion. I would recommend to anyone who hasn't made this yet, stick to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Wow! This pizza is awesome! I made my own dough, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. The flavors are wonderful together. I'll definetely make this one again. Thanks Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
My husband and I loved this tastey pizza! It went very well with red wine and salad. We will definitely make this pizza again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I am a huge cheese lover but this was waaaaaay too much cheese. I made it 2 weeks ago and I still can't stomach the taste of garganzola after making this. I will say had I used 1/2 LB cheese it would have been pretty great, but for an appetizer or finger-food at a party. I do not recommend this for the main dish for dinner, it's just way too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Pretty good, but I would add more onions and less cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
My old roommate used to make this and it was awesome! But I think he used brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States