Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I've been wanting to try this for months and finally decided to give it a go tonight. Wow! This is such a wonderful combination of flavors - I agree with others... there's no way you'd end up using a whole pound of gorgonzola. That'd ruin the beauty of this recipe. I think I'll add more onions next time (mine weren't very big) and forego adding the sugar as they're sweet enough on their own. I used a whole wheat pita. I also like the idea of adding sauteed mushrooms and toasted walnuts. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was wonderful!! I used 8 oz. of gorgonzola and everyone said I should have used half that and it would have been perfect. I substituted the other 8 oz. with a pre-shredded artisan cheese blend (mozerella and provolone) and added sauteed mushrooms (8oz) to the pizza as well. Will definitely make again, using 4 oz. of gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I love gorgonzola and I love caramelized onions and I really wanted to love this... but I only used half the gorgonzola and the cheese was still WAY TOO OVERPOWERING. The first piece was good but by the second it tasted almost bitter (and yes, the cheese was fresh). When I got a bite of pizza crust with just a little cheese and onion it was really delicious though. I'm going to try again with some other reviewer suggestions such as thinning the cheese with mozzarella because I know this could taste good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osceola, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Delicious and easy dinner! I made my own whole wheat pizza crust, which was a nice complement to the flavors. I doubt I used a whole pound of gorgonzola- I just sprinkled a thin covering on top of the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I have searched long and hard for a great gourmet style pizza. This is a wonderful alternative to the daily grind of classic reds. I am a big fan of white pizza. I’ve tried ye old classic whites which are usually a variation of olio de olive, ricotta, and roasted garlic. I served this pizza to my in-laws and they loved it. We just could not stop eating this great culinary delicacy. Everyone needs to try this. The only thing we did different was use mozzarella in place of the gorgonzola, and didn’t not use onions……… Just kidding. We followed the recipe to the T and it was great. We did add a head of roasted garlic to the crust prior to adding the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYANN40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very yummy, although I don't think I added a full pound of cheese. Will try walnuts on them next time and use a home made crust. Great reviews from the eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Incredible. I've cooked this so many times and it gets gobbled up by adults and preteens alike. Depending on availability in the grocery store, I substitute gorgonzola with another blue cheese like Roquefort with the same outstanding results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
As gorgonzola lovers we expected to enjoy this pizza, but even for us it was too much. Way too overpowering for the delicate onion flavor. I would use a blend of cheese, and use gorgonzola more as a "topping" rather than the main flavor. It could use some other flavors, perhaps some roasted tomato or fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Sooo good! With such little work and quite cheap too. I made two pizzas and a quarter of the cheese recommended was enough for both, so you definitely don't need a pound, it's potent stuff. I caramelised the onions without the sugar, the added some chopped wallnuts. They were ready in a jiffy and so tasty we mmmm-ed all through dinner. Mental note: perfect party finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Really rich and flavorful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States