Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
This is very similar to a recipe I got years ago from, I think, Cooking Light. It is one of my favorites. I love the combination of sweet, caramelized onions and the heady pungency of the Gorgonzola. I too sometimes substitute a Boboli. But I would not use a refrigerated pizza dough. (Because I've never found one that was very good.) So either make your own from scratch, or use a Boboli. Also, the original used, as I recall, a thin layer of ricotta over the dough, and some fresh thyme mixed in with the onions while they're cooking. Scratch the sugar, and add salt and fresh-ground black pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I used a mixture of butter and olive oil to caramelize the onions and let them cool before putting them on the dough. I get my dough from our local Italian market. I only had Danish blue cheese and I also added fresh rosemary. It was out of this world and will be made again in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
very good! my onions took a lot longer to carmelize than stated, but I suspected they would. I used much less Gorgonzola (about 6oz I think), I prebaked crust as package directed, removed from oven and brushed with garlic and herb basting oil. then put my onions and cheese on. Like the flavor combo, and actually inspired me to get creative with pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very good, but with sundried tomatoes added, just too salty and too much onion. good in small quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Totally delish, but did make it on sheets of puff pastry. When I pulled it out of the oven I cut it up into little squares and served it as finger food at parties in our flat in Berlin. Yum, brings back memories. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Made this for a culinary class project & just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Such a wonderful and versatile base recipe to serve as is or customize to your own preferences. Try adding VERY thin sliced pears and coarsley chopped walnuts, or mushrooms and baked garlic to the base recipe for a unique presentation. Definitely a great appetizer for a wine tasting or a backyard bbq! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was so disappointed.... maybe my expectation was too high... The cheese overpowered the whole pizza and everyone thought it was waaay too much of gongonzola cheese... I'll make it with the half of cheese next time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Rated in error and can't seem to delete. I am so sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
AWESOME! I added some baby bella mushrooms and arugula as toppings and it came out wonderful! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States